Green Monster Veggie Sandwich

Is there any color more energizing and life-affirming than a vibrant green?  Maybe it’s the non-city kid in me, but I get a sort of shiver down my spine every time I see it.

IMG_7541

Maybe if you squint reeeeeeally hard these will look like blades of grass. Let me know.

Seeing as how last time I checked there aren’t any reproductive justice policy jobs in the woods (hey Burlington, I’m talking to you), I’m stuck in not-so-green DC for the foreseeable future.  (Not that I’m saying DC is totally devoid of lovely green spaces.  But it’s not quite what I’m looking for in that regard.)  So aside from the occasional weekend away with a man who has completely backwards ideas about what makes for a top-notch mountain, I’m mostly stuck getting my green fix from my plate.

IMG_7538

Just so we’re crystal clear, trees are what make for a top-notch mountain.  COME AT ME WEST COASTERS.

This is one of those sandwiches that tastes so good that you forget for a second that it’s not all that unhealthy.  And while eating really healthy food is assuredly sometimes its own reward, don’t pretend like fooling yourself into thinking something healthy is indulgent isn’t still the best.  It fully is.

IMG_7539

I’m less than 100% sure that sentence made complete sense, grammatically speaking, but I’m writing this late at night after a long day at work and my brain is resistant to going back and reading it again. Don’t you worry about it too much either. Just look at this pretty food instead.

Lemony kale, string beans with a kick and crunch retained, and melty mozzarella to make things a little more fun.  Go ahead and have two or three– these are essentially handheld salads.  (New life plan: move to Burlington, open a veggie sandwich shop and market them as portable, handheld salads.  Fail quickly, fall back on the current plan to open a bed and breakfast and cook brunch food for friendly strangers EVERY DAY).

Green Monster Veggie Sandwich (makes one)

  • 2 slices of your favorite good Bread (and I mean “good” in the Ina Garten sense, obviously, but also I mostly just mean thick and possessing some substance; I used sourdough)
  • Handful Lemony Kale (see below) (Kale, Lemon, Olive Oil, Salt, Pepper)
  • ~6 Spicy String Beans (see below) (String Beans, Olive Oil, Crushed Red Pepper, 1 clove chopped Garlic)
  • Fresh Mozzarella, sliced thin

To Make Lemony Kale: Chop a large handful of kale.  Toss with juice of 1/2 a lemon, let sit at least 30 minutes. Toss with a splash of olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Set aside.

To Make Spicy String Beans: Heat splash of olive oil over medium heat in a skillet. Add string beans and crushed red pepper; cook for a few minutes until just beginning to take on color.  Add chopped garlic and cook just until fragrant, ~1 minute. Set aside.

Assemble Sandwich: Toast bread. Place on a cookie sheet and top both slices with mozzarella. Heat under broiler until cheese has melted.  Add string beans and kale.  (Eat.)

IMG_7540

True Confession Time: I didn’t eat this sandwich right when I made it.  I made it, realized I wasn’t hungry, got sad that I wasn’t going to get to devour it while hot, and put it in the fridge wrapped in foil, feeling excessively sorry for myself.  But guess what?  10 or so minutes in the oven the next day did wonders for reheating this lil guy– it was so much better than I expected!  I feel I can confidently say that if it was that good reheated, it’s probably also pretty spectacular fresh off the presses. Why don’t you make it and tell me, eh?

