Two-Cheese Crab Quesadillas

IMG_7445

Hard to be ~crabby~ about DC swamp weather when Maryland crabs abound (sorry, couldn’t help myself)!

Hi internet friends! I had a characteristically overindulgent trip to the farmer’s market this weekend, which always translates to a busy Sunday of scrambling to find a way to make the most of everything before it starts to spoil on me. Cooking for one is hard, y’all!

IMG_7245

Louie doesn’t actually count as another mouth to feed, although he gets some of EVERYTHING. This week we learned he looooves crab, but has no time for green beans. He’s a teenager in cat years, so we will forgive him.

I’ve been a Maryland resident for over a year now, but it took a visiting angelbabyfriend from all the way on the West Coast to actually get me to buy & eat some crabs. I know, I know– what’s wrong with me?? Let’s just say I made up for lost time in a BIG way, and wound up with ooooodles of crab on my hand, in addition to a bevy of good greens from the farmer’s market. What’s a gal to do?

IMG_7519

Make a bigass stack of quesadillas to eat alllll by her onesie, that’s what.

A squirt of Dijon and some chopped garlic scapes added punchy flavor and crunch to the crab salad I already intended to make– and then I remembered the fontina and tortillas in my fridge. Said fontina, a little brie (yeah you read that right), and a big handful of arugula and spinach (because health) rounded this bad boy out, and before you could say, “Hey lawandlentils, what about going to the gym tho?” this quesadilla was on my plate.

JK, it wasn’t on my plate. It was IMMEDIATELY in my mouth.

IMG_7516

Not pictured: cat meowing like I’ve stolen his firstborn. (Yes he got some. He always does. I am weak.)

Two-Cheese Crab Quesadillas

  • Crab Salad (see below)
  • Fontina Cheese, shredded
  • Brie Cheese, cubed
  • Handful Arugula
  • Handful Spinach
  • 1 Tortilla

Heat nonstick skillet over medium heat. Place tortilla in skillet and top entirety with fontina and brie. Spread crab salad over half of tortilla. Top crab salad with arugula and spinach. Heat for a few minutes until underside of tortilla is beginning to brown and cheese has melted. Use a spatula to fold the cheese-only side of the tortilla over the crab salad-side. Toast for a little more on each side. Remove from heat. Slice into quarters and serve.

Crab Salad

  • 1/2 c. Crabmeat
  • 1 T. Mayo/Greek Yogurt
  • Solid Squirt of Dijon Mustard
  • 1 Garlic Scape, sliced into coins
  • Fresh-Cracked Black Pepper

Combine all ingredients. Don’tcha just love short recipes?

IMG_7517

If the contents of your quesadilla don’t squeeze out of it when you pick it up, you’ve done it wrong and need to start again. That’s just Cheese Consumption 101.

These quesadillas are indulgent AF but they’re also hella good and I therefore can’t be even a little bit sorry. 10/10 would eat again. (But, like, tomorrow. Only because tonight’s too soon though. …It is, right?)

IMG_7518

I call this one “LawandLentils tries to photograph cheese pulls like a real blogger, utterly fails, is forced to give up and just eat it instead.” Not every loss is a devastation, friends.

Next up I’ve got a cheesy carby horse of a different color for ya. This one’s just as packed with flavor but vegetarian. Do I love ya or what?

