It’s *SO* Easy Being Green Pizza

IMG_7004You know what’s really great about vegetables? There’s always one you haven’t tried yet. Until today, fiddlehead ferns were on that list, for me. Sure, I’d seen them crop up on the internet, on lists of “spring veggies that last two seconds and you just have try!!!” and the like. They looked fun in photos (how can you not love their fun lil swirls), but I’d never seen one in person until last week, when I stumbled across them at my beloved Wegman’s.

IMG_7007

I don’t know why, but this pizza gives me major Jurassic Park vibes…

Now, a word of warning about fiddleheads: apparently, they can give you a stomach ache if not thoroughly cooked, so make sure you don’t try to gobble a giant handful raw, or something. (I don’t know. SOMEbody must’ve done it if they feel the need to warn people).

IMG_7006After deciding fiddleheads were born to top a pizza, I made some quick garlic scape pesto, and added a few of my absolute favorite greenies (dill, sugar snap peas) to make this pizza really pop. Also to make it easier to pretend it’s a salad. But lest you start to worry that this is healthy, let me remind you it’s pizza. Plus it’s got big ole hunks of creamy, dreamy burrata all over it, so.

IMG_7009

And then because that STILL didn’t seem sufficient, I added a little dusting of pecorino to boot. (Not pictured: the blizzard of pecorino that may or may not have appeared after this photo was taken).

Almost everything I eat is essentially just a bunch of stuff, dumped on some base about which I have no strong feelings. The lettuce in salads, the grains in a buddha bowl– yes, I have a kind of love for them, but it’s really about the stuff for which those things serve as a vehicle. And that’s basically all this is: a bunch of delicious things piled on a pizza crust because pizza is easy to make and very handy for eating outdoors. You could definitely make this into a salad instead, and it would be delicious. But also, umm…why would you?

IMG_7005

It’s So Easy Being Green Pizza

  • Pizza Dough (use you fave recipe or store bought– unlike certain talented bakers who shall remain nameless, I won’t judge you)
  • Grated Parmesan
  • Dried Basil
  • Dried Oregano
  • Garlic Powder
  • Garlic Scape Pesto (recipe below)
  • Fiddlehead Ferns, washed
  • Sugar Snap Peas, shucked
  • 1 ball Burrata
  • 1 handful fresh Dill, roughly chopped
  • 1 handful Chives, roughly chopped
  • Pecorino, to taste

Hand shape/roll out pizza dough as you normally would; top with grated parmesan, basil, oregano, and garlic powder to taste.  Smear with scape pesto and bake according to directions.

In the meantime, sauté fiddleheads in butter over medium heat; set aside. After pizza comes out of the over, top with sautéed fiddleheads and peas. Tear the burrata into pieces and scatter over pizza, along with the dill and chives. If you’re opting to add pecorino, grate it over the top. Best eaten al fresco with a giant glass of rose in hand. (Unrelated: somebody please teach me how to make WordPress do accents. I am so limited, technologically-speaking!)

Garlic Scape Pesto

  • 10-12 Garlic Scapes, roughly chopped
  • 1/3 c. Grated Parmesan
  • 1/3 c. Walnuts (Because umm who has the money for pine nuts. Not this recent student, that’s for sure. Walnuts do just fine here)
  • 3/4 c. Olive Oil (I always start with less; easier to add more than take it out later!)

Blitz all ingredients in a food processor/blende. Start with 1/2 c. oil and add more as need to reach desired consistency. Store whatever you don’t use in a sealable container.

I’m not actually a vegetarian; meat’s cool, sure, fine, whatever. But you so don’t need meat to have a fun, creative meal. The best time to try out a vegetarian diet, if that’s something you’re interested in doing, is summer, hands down. There is so much great produce out there, and so little of it even requires any cooking at all. I’m challenging myself to try out new produce this year, and to push myself past the old faithful flavor combinations I know will work. So I say whatever food/diet/cooking technique you’ve been afraid to try, let’s make this the summer we conquer it. Durian, here I come! (Look it up. Ick. This is gonna be great!)

IMG_6980

Betcha thought you were gonna get out of this without a Louie photo, didn’t you? No chance. Also, I’m considering adding a “What I’m (or in this case, We’re) Reading” element to Law and Lentils– good idea, terrible idea, or just kinda meh?

 

