Winter Citrus Avocado Salmon Salad

Like a lot of people, I try to spend my Sundays doing something resembling “meal prep” to get ready for the week ahead, when I often don’t really have the time to make a full-on, snazzy dinner.

This week, I feel like I have seasonal whiplash.  It was 80 degrees in DC a few days ago, but this weekend we barely cracked 40.  What??  My feelings are hurt and I take this very personally.  So for meal prep this time around I made pot roast (yes, I actually cooked a thing that used to have a pulse.  I’m only a sometimes vegetarian, remember?) to check the “it’s cold outside and I don’t want to leave my bed” box, and this citrusy, vibrant salad to address the part of me that is DYING for more warm, sunny days outside.

img_5691

This.  More of this, please.

In case it’s escaped your notice, I am a big fan of the smoked salmon-dill combo.  More of my time than I’d like to admit is spent trying to come up with new excuses to eat this duo. When I saw some citrus-avocado winter salads floating around the interwebz, I knew I had found my latest excuse, and here we are.

img_5721

Do you see that dappled sunlight?  Do you??  SPRING, IS THAT YOU?

This salad is jam-packed with flavor, and it feels so alive and spring-y even though it heavily features citrus, a decidedly wintry category of food.  Thank goodness for citrus, acting as the lone bright spot in the otherwise dark, heavy realm of winter produce.  This is the kind of salad that makes you want to eat outside.  It makes you want to be on a sailboat in an oatmeal-colored cable-knit sweater, even though you don’t know anyone with a sailboat and oatmeal washes you out.  It doesn’t matter, because with this salad, anything is possible.

img_5718

This baby’s got “al fresco” written alllllll over it.

This is one of those salads with a long list of ingredients, but a low level of work required.  Ain’t life grand sometimes?

Citrus Avocado Salmon Salad

*Note: I’m not including any specific amounts here, because every single one of these ingredients is to taste.  Even if you want to skip the lettuce altogether and make saladless salad, I say go for it.  What a time to be alive!

*Note #2: Use whatever citrus you like best/have around.  I like the balance between the more tart grapefruit and the sweeter clementine, but it’s by no means a must.

  • 1 Lemon, juiced
  • Olive Oil (start with 1/4 c., use more as desired)
  • Pepper, to taste
  • Boston Lettuce, torn
  • Red Onion, thinly sliced
  • Grapefruit, sectioned
  • Clementine, sectioned
  • Smoked Salmon
  • Avocado, cubed
  • Sprouts (Broccoli or otherwise)
  • Feta, crumbled
  • Fresh Dill, torn

 

 

In a sealable container, combine lemon juice, dill, pepper, and olive oil.  Shake it like a Polaroid picture til emulsified.  This is where you can add olive oil/pepper to taste; I like to go as light as possible on the olive oil in my vinaigrettes, but that’s a personal taste thing.  If this vinaigrette is too tart for your taste, add a squeeze of honey to soften the edge a little.

Dress lettuce with lemon vinaigrette, then top with remaining ingredients.  Also it just occurred to me that peas would be so good in this.  Please put peas in this!

img_5722

The colors of this salad give me hope that spring will indeed appear.  I, for one, am ready af.

