A Breakfast Sandwich to Satisfy the Angel on Your Shoulder

Ok, somehow it’s been 2 months since my last post.  I honestly don’t know how this happens.  I feel like I was singing the praises of scones just yesterday!  Time flies when all your friends pick the same summer to get married, I guess.

FullSizeRender

Last week’s wedding aisle. Sorry if you thought your friends were the coolest. Mine have already claimed the crown.

I love breakfast food almost as much as I love weddings, an adoration which is embarrassingly well-documented on this blog.  And now that I telework on Fridays (heyyyy), I can afford to take a little more time with my first meal of the day.  Which makes it much easier to pretend for a minute that it’s already the weekend.  If you don’t eat breakfast til 11 you’re legally obligated to call it brunch.  Trust me, they teach you that in law school on day one.  Though you should probably still save the Bloody Marys and mimosas for the actual weekend (don’t worry, employers, not a single drop of champagne has crossed my lips today).

(Yet.)

IMG_4056

Last week’s breakfast views looked like this. If you’re not from Upstate NY, get thee hence and spend a little time in the Adirondacks. It’s kind of okay-looking, I guess.

For my dear friend’s Adirondacks wedding last week, several of us rented a house for the week, and it was a fabulous time.  Especially since I didn’t have to do any of the planning (thanks, Brian)!  I also ate more meat in that single week than I have in at least the past year, so the last few days back at home have been all about getting reacquainted with your friend and mine, the vegetable.  Not that I’m opposed to living that caveman life once in a while, but sometimes your body tells you it needs more of something, and it’s usually a good idea to listen.  I often find that if I have a sudden craving for leafy greens, or citrus, or what have you, a look back at my diet in recent days shows a serious lack of the food in question.  Bodies, man.  They know their stuff!

IMG_4169

Livin that baby kale life alllllll week.

Honestly, is there anything better than a breakfast sandwich?  Other than the joy of watching your dearest friends find love and start lives as married couples (oh I’m sorry, is my post-wedding sappiness grating?  Too bad so sad), I don’t think anything tops the glory of a good breakfast sandwich, especially one that’s fairly virtuous but still packed with flavor.  Plus, this one is so quick and easy that you could put it together on a non-telework day.  All the time you need is the time it takes to toast an english muffin and scramble up some egg whites.  Doable, even on a Monday (so sorry for invoking the worst day of the week.  It had to be done).

(Mostly) Healthy Vegetarian Breakfast Sandwich

  • Whole Grain English Muffin, toasted
  • Scrambled Egg Whites
  • Baby Kale
  • 1/4 Avocado, sliced
  • Swipe of your favorite Ricotta (this one‘s mine.  So easy to make, so much more flavor than the stuff you get at the store)
  • Sambal Oelek, to taste (or your spicy condiment of choice)
IMG_4168

Messy?  Yes.  Worth it?  No. …Just kidding.  Yes.  Obviously.

I don’t really think you need me to tell you how to put a sandwich together, but in case you do: assemble all ingredients. 😉

Pro tip: To get my egg whites into that easy-to-manage shape, I simply whisk ’em up with some salt and pepper, then pour them into a nonstick mini skillet and don’t move them again till they’re almost completely cooked through.  Flip and cook for just a few seconds on the other side.  Transfer to a cutting board and use the mouth of a glass to cut out a perfectly round (and perfectly english muffin-sized) shape.  If you’re cooking for a crowd, you can do the same thing in a bigger skillet.  SO easy!  It’s got all the neatness of those fast food breakfast sandwiches but the eggs are real instead of made of powder.  Win, win.

Weekday brunch.  Let’s make it a thing!  See you this time next Friday.

