Super Bowl Snack Time

…or anytime snack time.  You’re still allowed to eat this stuff if you’re not a football person.  I promise.  I should know, because while I willingly (even happily) watch/attend football games, it’s not exactly something I follow closely.  And I still eat all this stuff.  Heck, I made it.

IMG_3059.JPG

The last football game I attended.  They didn’t even have color photography back then!

For my own Super Bowl shindig, we are going the punny route and making soup.  Get it?  SOUP-er bowl?!  Highbrow stuff right here, ladies and gentlemen.  I for one will be supplying zurek, my favorite Polish soup.  It’s a crazy delicious sour rye soup that just happens to contain probiotics (heyyyy), and is definitely worth trying out if you ever get the opportunity!  I would share a recipe with you, but I’m a cheater and I picked the soup up from my favorite little Polish cafe in Middle of Nowhere, Western New York.  No clue why they chose to set up shop there, but boy am I ever glad they did!

I realize Polish soup isn’t exactly what most people are looking to eat on Super Bowl Sunday, so I have gathered up some snack-y past posts & ideas right here for your chowing down convenience.  If, however, you live in the Rochester area and decide you WOULD like to go the zurek route (or, like, a million other soups– they have a VERY wide selection), be sure to check out EuroCafe in Geneseo.  It’s so good and the two ladies who run it are just the sweetest!  But I digress.  There is snack food and helmet smashing to be discussed!

Three-Bean Vegetarian Chili

Thai Sweet Potato Nachos (because normal nachos are SEW 2015)

Pistachio and Goat Cheese-Wrapped Grapes

Easy Homemade Sushi

Brie-Fig Jam Crackers (who says Super Bowl snacks can’t be classy as all get out?)

Kimchi Quesadillas AND Artichoke Tomato Feta Tart

Roasted Tomato Camembert Dip 

Tzatziki

Coconut Macaroons

Death By Chocolate Cookies

And for the next day if (IF) guilt sets in, some healthier (and less fun, one might argue?) ideas you may want to explore adding to your Monday diet:

Miso Kale Soup

Strawberry Avocado Salad

Spinach and Arugula Salads (a 3-for-1!)

Mandarin Thai Salad

Arugula Salad with Breaded Goat Cheese, Squash, and Pomegranate

Kale Salad with Pomegranate, Walnuts, & Toasted Garlic Breadcrumbs

This is the first time I’ve looked at my old blog posts (like, ever) and it’s very, very weird.  I never think about how long I’ve been writing this blog, or how its format has changed.  But man, some of those older posts– so bizarre!  Looking at them, I mean. Not that the posts themselves aren’t bizarre, it’s just that the bizarre factor in the writing itself hasn’t gone away.  And likely never will, let’s be real.  *insert angel emoji here*

So who are you all rooting for this Sunday? I’ll be cheering for the Panthers myself.  Not that they’re my team (#Bills), but you have to root for SOMEbody!

