Double Bailey’s Brownie Ice Cream

Okay, I know it’s winter and that seems like an inappropriate time to share an ice cream recipe.  But a) there is NO SNOW outside my upstate NY window so I’m not totally convinced it’s winter anyway, and b) ice cream is always appropriate.  Also, this particular ice cream contains a double dose of Bailey’s and most of a batch of brownies (shut up, I had to taste them to make sure they were okay.  Several times).  So…let’s not pretend we’re anything other than super amped about this recipe, ok?

Somebody thought it was a good idea to give me an ice cream maker for Christmas, so now I have a seriously dangerous weapon on my hands, at least where my and my family/friends’ waistlines are concerned.  But as my beloved Oscar Wilde would say, ‘everything in moderation, including moderation,’ right?   As long as we all agree to do some extra crunches this week, we can get away with this indulgence.  And besides, they just came out with that study about mammals evolving to overeat in the winter to preserve body fat during the coldest months of the year, so I’m just helping us get a head start.  No need to thank me, it’s my pleasure. 😉

IMG_3014

Ice Cream Base

For my base, I used the New York Times’ ‘Only Ice Cream Recipe You’ll Ever Need,’ and while I think after one batch it’s too soon to say for certain whether that title holds true, I was certainly very happy with the results.  It’s a really easy recipe to pull together (just a basic custard recipe), and the only tweak I made was to add about a tablespoon of vanilla because I can never help myself when it comes to that stuff.  With regard to vanilla, more is more, and more is better.

IMG_3013

Double Bailey’s Brownie Ice Cream

To take this ice cream to the next level, I whipped up some Bailey’s Brownies, which are a cinch to make– just bake a box of brownies (use Ghiradelli’s Double Chocolate if you want a truly swoon-worthy batch) exactly as you normally would, but replace the water in the recipe with Bailey’s.  (Or whatever booze you like best– the sky’s the limit, so dream big, boozy brownie-ers!  Hello, Kahlua.  Let’s be friends.)

Chop the brownies into small cubes– slightly larger than the size of a chocolate chip.  Add brownies to the custard base in its last 5 minutes of churning.  Then, add 3-4 T. Bailey’s in the final 2 minutes of churning.*  At this point, the ice cream will be a soft serve consistency.  If you want it more scoop-able, transfer it to a freezer-safe container and let it hang out in the freezer for a few hours.

*NOTE: Now listen.  Having been in college fairly recently, I know all too well that the temptation to add extra booze to things like Jell-o shots is very, very strong.  But you know what happens when you do that, right?  It doesn’t set and you have a big soupy mess on your hands.  Well it tears me to pieces to tell you this, but the same thing will happen to your ice cream if you add too much booze.  So when I say not to add more than 4 T. of booze to your ice cream, I mean it.  I am so, so sorry.  But I promise that will be enough to taste it!  And your ice cream will actually freeze and be ice cream.  You can always add more booze when you eat the ice cream by making it into a boozy float.  Crisis averted.  *Phew*

IMG_3025

#ifsocialmediawerehonest confession: I scooped this bowl of ice cream just for the photo.  And then I put it back in the freezer.  Without eating any of it.  Pretty sure this was the single greatest exercise of self-control thus far in human existence.  Sigh.

If you don’t have an ice cream maker, you could still make this recipe with my old friend, the no-churn ice cream base.  How you make it is irrelevant; it’s simply imperative that you do.  I personally recommend consuming copious amounts of this stuff while watching the Bachelor and gasping in unison with friends at Olivia’s cray antics.  But hey, you do you!

