Miso Kale Soup

Happy New Year, y’all!  Are we still allowed to say that 10 days in?  Who cares, I’m doing it.  I hope you all celebrated in whatever way you wanted– for me, that meant with a great group of friends in my own house.  Never overestimate the value of being able to go to bed whenever you darn well please.

IMG_2922

I don’t know if you’re aware, but a lot of people try to eat healthier at the start of a new year.  Newsflash, right?  My gym’s population has tripled in the past ten days, I am quite sure.  Even if being healthier isn’t among your resolutions, most everybody probably feels the need to up their veggie intake for a little while after the caloric onslaught that is the holidays.  You know you’re in trouble when you begin to physically crave dark green veggies.

IMG_2919

So in keeping with the seemingly universal January compulsion to healthify, I decided to share a crazy-easy recipe for miso soup.  Miso soup is just the best.  Sushi is the bomb.com all by its lonesome, but you know what makes it even better?  Getting some miso soup (for free!) before you get to the fish business.  But you don’t need sushi to get your miso soup on.  Pretty much all you need is water and five minutes of your life.  So go for it!  It will make you feel SO healthy and therefore smug, and also it tastes good.  January win.

Miso Kale Soup (makes 2 servings)

  • 1 1/2 c. Water
  • 1 clove Garlic, sliced in half
  • 1 medallion Ginger
  • 1 handful Kale, chopped
  • 3-4 ounces Tofu, cubed
  • Wakame (aka seaweed)
  • 1 heaping spoonful Miso
  • 1 Scallion, sliced (I was out of them for these photos.  Oops.)

Bring water, garlic, and ginger to a simmer.  Simmer for 3 minutes, then add kale.  Simmer for approx. 2 minutes, until kale is semi-tender.  Remove from heat and remove ginger and garlic.  Stir in miso.  Add tofu, wakame, and scallions.  Serve immediately, and with some sriracha if you’re so inclined (I am.  Always).

IMG_2920

You can’t really see it but it’s snowing out there.  Which legally requires soup consumption.  Trust me, I’m a lawyer.

Ok but really, how easy is this?!  Heat some water with three things in it for a few minutes.  Add stuff.  Eat.  I almost didn’t post this because it doesn’t feel like enough of a “recipe.”  But it tastes good and I didn’t want to be selfish, so here we are!  You could put any veggies your little heart desires in here and it would totally work.  Just don’t cook the veggies any more beforehand– the crunch of the veggies is a nice contrast to the silky broth and soft tofu.  Happy soup-ing!

P.S. Can we note that I didn’t make a single miso pun in this WHOLE POST?!  This must be what it feels like to be a grown-up.

