Vegan Veggie Coconut Peanut Stew

I have absolutely no idea what to call this recipe.  Which had a most definitely outsized influence on my almost-decision to skip posting it.  Naming recipes is hard, man!  In my recipe notes it’s called “Thai-ish-y Stoup.”  Which, like, no.  So here we are.  If after reading the recipe you’ve got a better idea, PLEASE tell me.  I am very, very open to suggestions.

IMG_2745

Although I will say I think this rose by any other name would in fact smell as sweet. Well, savory in this case, but you get the point.

Sundays are such a cruel mistress.  On the one hand, they’re unequivocally the best day for lengthy kitchen experiments.  I don’t know why.  I guess people have better things to do on Saturdays or something.  Because it is just not the same!  But Sundays are ALSO the day before Monday.  If you’re a glass half-empty kind of person, Sundays might as well be called Monday Eve Day.  But man, is that depressing or WHAT?  So let’s never speak of this again.

What was I saying?  Oh, right.  Sunday, the day of maximum kitchen creativity.  It’s the best day for turning yourself and your loved ones into guinea pigs.  Lately I’ve been on a bit of a homemade breakfast products streak– first, everything bagels, and this week, english muffins.  If I were the sort of person who ate a real breakfast during the week, I would be my own best friend.  Lucky for me breakfast foods are an all day thing 😉

IMG_2744

This is also an all-day thing.  You can totally eat this before noon.  Not that I know from personal experience or anything.  Definitely not.

So.  To (finally) get to the main event, since nobody reads all this babbly stuff anyway.  This thick soup/stew (hence the “stoup” in my notes; if Shakespeare can invent words, why not me?  Yes I did just compare myself to Shakespeare.  No ego check needed here, thanks) incorporates some of my favorite Thai flavors– coconut milk, peanut, ginger, and lime.  But it’s also kind of a big hot mess of my greatest loves in one pot together.  And I’m biased, but I think it’s darn good.  The peanut sauce is probably the recipe I make most frequently.  I’m not big on repeating recipes, even if I totally loved them, but I make this peanut sauce ALL THE TIME.  That should tell you something.  It’s very flexible and forgiving, so if you’re missing some of the ingredients I call for here, don’t worry about it.  I rarely have all of them at the same time myself either.  It’s still great minus the lime juice, or the honey, or the soy sauce, or whatever.  I highly recommend making a lot and using the extra for every stir fry for the rest of your life.  So probably just make a whole vat of it.  Cool.

Vegan Veggie Coconut Peanut Stew

  • Sesame Oil
  • 1/2 Onion, diced
  • Ginger, grated (to taste)
  • Garlic, grated (to taste)
  • 1 Bell Pepper, diced
  • 1 Zucchini, diced
  • 1 bar of Tempeh, cubed
  • 1 can Chickpeas, drained
  • 1 can Coconut Milk (either full fat or light is fine; using light will make the stew thinner)
  • Peanut Sauce (to taste), recipe below
  • Sesame Seeds to garnish

In a large pot, heat a splash of sesame oil over medium heat.  Add onion and cook till translucent.  Add ginger and garlic, cooking til fragrant.  Add pepper, zucchini, tempeh, and chickpeas.  Cook several minutes (aim to get some good brown stuff on the veggies and the bottom of the pan), then stir in coconut milk and peanut sauce.  Scrape the bottom of the pan to get at that aforementioned good brown stuff, and cook til heated through.  Serve garnished with sesame seeds.  Note: You could always add veggie stock when you add the other liquids to make this “stoup” more “soup” and less “stew.”

(Absurdly Addictive) Peanut Sauce

  • Peanut Butter
  • Rice Vinegar
  • Sesame Oil
  • Soy Sauce
  • Sriracha
  • Honey
  • Lime Juice

Start with a big ole spoonful of peanut butter.  Add several glugs of rice vinegar, a splash each of sesame oil, soy sauce, and sriracha.  Add a drizzle (maybe a tablespoon or so) of honey, and about the same of lime juice.  Whisk all ingredients together.  Add more of any ingredient to taste/desired consistency.  I realize this is a pain of a recipe because it involves NO measurements, but I have never once measured anything while making this so I’ve really got nothing to give you.  Except my word that even without measurements this is easy and you cannot go wrong.  Just keep taste testing until it’s just right.  What a terrible burden, right?  Repeatedly tasting peanut sauce.  Sheesh.  Life is so rough sometimes.

IMG_2757

Snuggly winter in a bowl.  No snow required.  (Thank goodness, because it’s very uncool how un-Christmasy the weather has been so far this December.)

This stoup is a great way to clean out your fridge– just about any veggie will go nicely here, so you can finally get rid of that questionable-looking zucchini in the back of the veggie crisper, or that half a sweet potato that’s been pining for your attention for way too long.  I should also probably mention that you don’t actually have to wait until Sunday to make this.  No time like the present to put a little December (vegan) meat on your bones, right?

