Barley Clementine Date Salad

Last week, I was lucky enough to spend my birthday at the beach with a dear, dear friend.  It was a wonderful weekend that consisted mainly of beach time, gin & tonics, & unhealthy but delicious eats (hey there, Tom Jenkins, I see you).

IMG_2644

Coming home was, umm, not easy.

After a very fun/indulgent weekend, I came home, sad to see dropping temps and looking to detox.  For weeks now I’ve been dreaming about a grain salad involving citrus, but that was as far as things had gone until my psychic saint of a mother gifted me with a few clementines.  Before I knew it, I had lunch/dinner for the next week.  Aren’t fast recipes just the best?

FullSizeRender

Does ANYthing brighten up cold winter days better than citrus?  I didn’t think so.

Barley Clementine Date Salad

  • 3 c. cooked Barley
  • 2 Clementines, sectioned and chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • 3/4 c. Dates, chopped
  • Scallions, chopped
  • Splash of Rice Vinegar
  • Olive Oil, Salt, Pepper
  • Optional (see below): Toasted Almonds, Crumbled Feta, Pomegranate Arils

Combine first four ingredients (plus any optional ingredients you choose to use).  Add rice vinegar, olive oil, salt, and pepper to taste.  That’s it!

IMG_2667

It’s abnormally sunny/warm here this week, but doesn’t this look like such a cozy winter lunch?

The great thing about grain salads is that they’re endlessly variable.  Over the past few days I’ve added to this salad several times: first, toasted almonds.  Then, a sprinkling of feta.  And yesterday, after a very exciting trip to the grocery store (I bit the bullet and bought some kombucha– here goes nothing, I guess), the crowning jewel: pomegranate arils.  I don’t have a photo of the salad with the arils in it because I was hungry and it was after dark so the lighting was bad, but trust me– they look so pretty in there.  As pomegranate arils are wont to do.

Just a quick post today!  I have to get back to listening to Christmas music while I dream about the beach.  Because that’s a totally normal thing for an upstate New Yorker to do.  Sigh.  Is it May yet?

