Maple-Glazed Pecan Cider Pumpkin Scones

Yesterday was kind of chilly.  “Kind of chilly” is pretty much the only green light I need to get a-bakin’, and that’s just what I did.

See that tree starting to turn behind my alma mater's chapel there?  It's a sign!

See that tree starting to turn behind my alma mater’s chapel there? It’s a sign!  Translated into English it says, “Bake all of the things, bathing suit season is over and you’re gonna need to keep yourself warm this winter.”  Mother Nature knows best.

Last week I told you these pumpkin baked oats were going to make your kitchen smell like fall heaven, but it turns out I was wrong.  Well, not wrong exactly.  They will make your kitchen smell delicious.  But then you will make these scones and you will realize there is a higher plane of fall food smelling-ness that you haven’t before attained.

I called my mother to come over just to smell these.  It was worth it.

I called my mother to come over just to smell these. She asked me to tell you it was worth it. 

The BEST news is that they taste as good as they smell.  I put everything fall-y I could think of in ’em: pumpkin (and its associated spices), cider, maple.  If caramelized onions would have worked, you’d best believe they would be in there too.  But those will have to wait for another day, I guess!

This is the first layer of maple glaze that made it onto these bad boys.  It's far from the last.

This is the first layer of maple glaze that made it onto these bad boys. It’s far from the last.

Pecan Cider Pumpkin Scones (makes 12)

Adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

  • 2 c. Flour
  • 3 T. Granulated Sugar
  • 4 T. Brown Sugar
  • 1 T. Baking Powder
  • 1/2 t. Each: Salt, Cinnamon, Nutmeg
  • 1/4 t. Each: Cloves, Ginger
  • 6 T. Cold Unsalted Butter
  • 1 c. Chopped Pecans
  • 1/2 c. Pumpkin Puree
  • 3 T. Cider
  • 1 Egg

Preheat oven to 425 and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl, then use a pastry cutter, a fork, or your fingers to cut butter into mixture until no chunks of butter are visible.  Stir in pecans.

In a separate bowl, combine pumpkin, cider, and egg.  Fold wet mixture into dry mixture.  Pat out dough on a floured surface into a 1-inch thick rectangle.  Cut across the width to make three equal sections, then cut each of these with a X.  You should end up with 12 triangular pieces.  I did not, and I have no earthly idea what I did wrong.  But whatever their shape, they’ll taste darn good…

Place on prepared baking sheet and bake for 15 min. until light brown.  Cool on wire rack.  Once scones have cooled, drizzle with (an embarrassing amount of) maple glaze.

Maple Glaze

Adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction

  • 1/4 c. Unsalted Butter
  • 1/2 c. Maple Syrup (don’t you even THINK about using gross fake stuff unless you absolutely have to.  Don’t. You. Dare.)
  • 1 c. Confectioner’s Sugar

Melt butter and syrup in a saucepan over low heat, whisking occasionally.  Once butter has melted, remove from heat and whisk in confectioner’s sugar.  Set aside to cool– the longer it sits, the thicker it will be (this is a very good thing, guys).

Final glaze status: drowning.

Final glaze status: drowning.

If you or someone you love doesn’t eat at least one of these while they’re warm and fresh out of the oven, I don’t think we can be friends anymore.  But you have more sense than that, I know you do.

PS: These scones are not a lot of work, really, but if you’re not feeling like putting in much effort at all, this glaze is made for baked doughnuts, which are just the most embarrassingly easy thing ever (see?).  Happy eating (read: gorging)!

