Pumpkin Pie Baked Oats with Roasted Pears

Ohhhhh man, you guys.  Fall’s a-comin!  It was SO icky this weekend!  And while a big part of me was thinking, “Man, I really wish I had not worn shorts to this rain-drenched, 50-degree festival…I wonder if/when these goosebumps will go away?” a tiiiiiiny part of me was jumping for joy inside, because this weekend was the first sign of fall and I am ALL ABOUT IT.  While not my favorite season (hey, late spring), fall’s got a lot going in its favor, and as somebody who likes to cook, fall is right up there with summer in terms of exciting produce.  I’ve started roasting all of the things, and once that train leaves the station, there’s no turning back.

Except this week when it'll be 80 and sunny all week and this will be my view all day, every day.  I'm maybe ok with not saying goodbye to summer JUST yet...

Except this week when it’ll be 80 and sunny all week and this will be my view all day, every day. I’m maybe ok with not saying goodbye to summer JUST yet…

Somehow in the 17 years that I grew up in the Rochester area, I never got to the Rochester Public Market, and when I came back home that was one of the FIRST things I set out to do.  It did NOT disappoint.  HOLY MOLY it’s the bomb.com!  Especially coming from DC where farmer’s markets are hella pricy.  I bought nine beets for a DOLLAR at the market this week.  ONE DOLLAR.  I can’t get over it.  It’s been five days and I’m still talking about it.  If they were open more than just 3 days a week (Tues/Thurs/Sat for you locals), I am pretty sure I would just live there.

I’ve spent the past week turning all the goodies I bought into lovely fall-ish dishes that I’m so excited to get around to sharing with you, but I thought I’d start with the most important meal of the day.  Yes, another breakfast dish.  You know better than to expect more of me at this point.

Seriously though, you could just eat this stuff all the time.  Breakfast for dinner is a beautiful thing.

Seriously though, you could just eat this stuff all the time. Breakfast for dinner is a beautiful thing.

I’m afraid I’m going to venture into dangerous territory by admitting this, but I don’t like pumpkin pie.  Actively dislike it, in fact.  BUT I like lots of other pumpkin things!  And I like the spices used in pumpkin pie.  It’s mostly a texture thing, I think?  But I’m not about to spend a lot of quality time with pumpkin pie trying to sort out exactly why I don’t like it.  So I get my fall pumpkin fix in other ways, like with these “pumpkin pie” baked oats.

You can never have enough cinnamon in anything from September to December.  Unless you're doing the cinnamon challenge.  Ick.

You can never have enough cinnamon in anything from September to December. Unless you’re doing the cinnamon challenge (Google it but don’t attempt!). Ick.

These guys are nothing like overnight oats, so if you’re not into oat dishes for liquidity reasons (hey Mom), don’t count ’em out!  This dish comes out of the oven dense and chewy, and smelling crazy good.  Plus it reheats well.  But a word to the wise– don’t get too aggressive when microwaving this stuff.  My mom learned the hard (read: black, burned) way that too much heat for too long will not do good things to these oats, so be gentle!  This recipe is a great way to feed a crowd of visitors this fall– just mix everything together, toss it in the oven for an hour, and you have a breakfast that smells and tastes just like the (hopefully) beautiful views outside!

Pumpkin Pie Baked Oats

  • 2 c. Oats
  • 3/4 c. Pumpkin Puree
  • 1 c. Milk (as always my bias errs skim, but whatever you prefer to use should be fine)
  • 1 t. Vanilla
  • 3 T. Brown Sugar
  • 3/4 t. Cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. each: Allspice, Cloves, Ginger, Nutmeg
  • Pinch of Salt

Stir all ingredients together, and transfer to an oven-safe dish.  Bake covered at 350 for 1 hour.

Roasted Pears

  • As many pears as suits your fancy/needs
  • Butter (doesn’t really matter whether it’s un/salted, though I always use unsalted myself)
  • Sugar

Preheat oven to 375 and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Halve and core pears, and arrange cut side up on prepared baking sheet. Top each half with small pats of butter, and sprinkle with a pinch of sugar.  Bake for around 30 minutes, until soft when pierced with a fork.

Fall in a bowl.  That sounds like an insult in the vein of "go play in the street," no?  Not what I meant.  *Autumn in a bowl.  Much better.

Fall in a bowl. That sort of sounds like an insult in the vein of “go play in the street,” no? Not what I meant. *Autumn in a bowl.* Much better.

Don’t get me wrong– I’m glad summer hasn’t quite left us yet.  80, sunny, and not humid is a pretty darn nice place to be.  But it’s hard not to get excited about the start of a new phase, whatever it is.  And in this case that phase involves soul-warming spices and that amazing crispness in the air that makes your lungs feel invigorated and alive.  Who wouldn’t get excited about that??

