Checking In and Summer Inspiration (Feat. Kimchi, Smoked Salmon, and Sorrel. Magic Things.)

Oh…hey.  Has it…been a while?  Oh, only three months?  Never mind then.

SO.  I have missed Law and Lentils!  This (superlong!) absence has been due to finals, and then traveling, and then this happened:

They will hate this being on the internet.  Sorry guys.  But they're the best and the only reason I got through law school, so they can deal with their image being on the world wide web if it gives me another excuse to profess my gratitude and love :)

They will hate this being on the internet. Sorry guys. But they’re the best and the only reason I got through law school, so they can deal with their image being on the world wide web if it gives me another excuse to profess my gratitude and love. 🙂

I guess this means I need to change my “About Me,” huh??  I’ll get there.  Eventually.  Because right after graduation happened, Bar prep started (dun dun dunnnnn) and my life disappeared before my eyes.  It’s T minus one week to the bar and I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve left my apartment building in the last week.  How long does it take to become a mole person?  I think I might be getting close.

I’ve still been cooking for myself even through Bar prep, which has been met with surprise from some people, but cooking is 100% my respite from studying insanity.  I break every day for a run/yoga and to cook,  and I cling to those two breaks for DEAR LIFE.  I would be lost(er) without them!  That said, though, I recently went through a breakup, and am definitely finding it harder to be motivated to cook when I’m only cooking for myself.  Also struggling to reduce portions– (ex)BF generally ate 3 portions to my 1, so now when I cook I have dinner for actually the entire week.  Which is super handy, but also gets a little boring!  But the breakup has also given me an opportunity to cook some of the things I had wanted to but was unable to make, like shellfish.  And weird things like chia seed pudding and date-pistachio bars that (ex)BF would NEVER have eaten.  As I write this post I’m sitting on my couch watching the Bachelorette (don’t judge me, it’s called hate watching and I’m fine with it) with a mashed avocado on my face.  So clearly I’m fully embracing the single life! 😉

Since I don’t really have time to do a full recipe post (the rule against perpetuities is calling to me, guys!), I thought I’d at least pop in to post some cooking inspiration photos to get your kitchen wheels turning.  And also to say a) I’m still alive and b) the Bar is over in single-digit days (AHHH), which means I will be back soon!  Until then, happy cooking!!  Summer produce, man.  #bombdiggity

Scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, goat cheese, and fresh dill.  Been dreaming about this every weekend since I made it.  And that was over two months ago. So.

Scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, goat cheese, and fresh dill. Been dreaming about this every weekend since I made it. And that was over two months ago. So.

Sour Cherry Galette.  You know what's great about galettes?  It's just a pie crust that you don't have to be so fussy with.  Wrap a bunch of fruit in a weirdly-shaped crust and call it a

Sour Cherry Galette. You know what’s great about galettes? They’re just a pie crust that you don’t have to be so fussy with. Wrap a bunch of fruit in a weirdly-shaped crust and call it a “galette,” and suddenly you’re the fanciest gal (HAHA GET IT) in town.

Artichoke, Tomato, and Tart.  OH HEY THIS IS SO EASY.  Make pretty lines of veggies on puff pastry.  Bake.  Obsess.  Repeat.

Artichoke, Tomato, and Feta Tart. OH HEY THIS IS SO EASY. Make pretty lines of veggies on puff pastry. Bake. Obsess. Repeat.

This is my favorite salad.  Fully.  Ever.  And that's a big award.  But really, the best whole thing in the whole world is sorrel, and if you can get your hot lil hands on some, DO IT.  Mix said sorrel (it actually tastes like lemon,  It's amazing), baby spinach, roasted beets, burrata (HEYYYYY), and fresh peas, and devour it.

This is my favorite salad. Fully. Ever. And that’s a big award. But really, the best thing in the whole world is sorrel, and if you can get your hot lil’ hands on some, DO IT. Mix said sorrel (it actually tastes like lemon, it’s amazing), baby spinach, roasted beets, burrata (HEYYYYY), and fresh peas, drizzle with lemon juice, olive oil, and salt/pepper.  And then go nuts.

My momma came for a nice long visit this summer, and while she was here, I introduced her to the magic that is kimchi.  We made some RILL messy quesadillas with kimchi, cheddar, and spinach.  In that moment, I learned what true love is.  Go on.  You owe it to yourself.

My momma came for a nice long visit this summer, and while she was here, I introduced her to the magic that is kimchi. We made some RILL messy quesadillas with kimchi, cheddar, and spinach. In that moment, I learned what true love is. Go on. You owe it to yourself.

GUYS I am struggling so hard not to write a big long post talking about scapes and figs and all of the magical things.  So imma cut myself off right here, right now.  Miss you, be back soon!

