Easy Homemade Sushi

Let’s play a game: I will aim to make not a single “roll” joke during this WHOLE post on sushi, and we will all win.  That’s it.  Simple game.  Aaaaaand go!

This is How I Roll

Hello, I love you.

So here’s the deal with sushi: it’s not hard.  At all.  But also, it’s hard.  The steps are super simple– cook some sticky rice, layer your stuff, roll it up, slice it, devour it.  Done and done.  But that whole “roll it up” part takes practice.  Not, like, a lot of practice.  But a little.

First attempt.  Definitely edible.  Just maybe not in polite company.

First attempt. Definitely edible. Just maybe not in polite company.

But the practice is totally worth it.  Because, umm, you’re going to be able to have sushi anytime you want after you’ve taught yourself how to do this.  ANYTIME YOU WANT.  And if you happen to live near a supermarket with a fish counter that doesn’t freak you out, or you know a guy, or whatever, you can even put raw fish in it. Now, I trust strangers I can’t see in restaurant kitchens more than I trust myself to prepare raw fishies, so I’ll be sticking to veggies (and bean curd because IT’S DELICIOUS SHUT UP YOU’RE WRONG).  But you do you.

Still good without the salmon/tuna/etc.  I promise.

Still good without the salmon/tuna/etc. I promise.

So! Without further ado, my Tips for Sushi Success (Thus Far):

  • Don’t overdo it on the rice.  Oh my god, don’t.  You need just a thin layer.  You know how sushi’s always weirdly filling, even though it seems like it shouldn’t be?  The more rice you have, the worse that’s going to be.  And the harder it is going to be to roll it up.
  • Leave a teeeeeny bit of space at the end of the seaweed sheet (1/4″ or so) with no rice on it.  The rice will squeeze as you’re rolling, and you don’t want it to squeeze all the way over the end or it won’t seal as well.
  • If your seaweed isn’t sticking shut well once you’ve rolled it up, use a little water along the edge to help it fuse.
  • It’s not really so much a strictly rolling process as more of a rolly-folding process.  Make sure you roll/fold all the way around your filling on the first roll/fold, or you’ll have an unwieldy mess on your hands.
  • Squeeze the sushi tightly as you roll/fold.  Otherwise, it will fall apart when you try to eat it.  And it’s a lot easier to dip the sushi in delicious things like sriracha mayo if it’s intact.
  • Use a wet, sharp knife to cut the sushi.
  • Invest (“invest”) in the sushi mat.  You might think you can roll sushi without it, but you are wrong.  You can get a mat for a couple bucks.  Just do it.
  • Add a healthy sprinkling of sesame seeds on top of the rice layer to make your life even more delicious and rewarding.
  • Favorite combos include peanut avocado (duh), peanut cucumber, and carrot pepper.  Crunchy things are a plus!
Rollin with the homies.

~~Rollin with the homies~~ Yes I know I just lost the game.  But this was worth it.  Because my first roll was a full-on Monet, but this one is a total Betty.  I could actually do this all day.  Someone stop me.

The only REAL piece of advice I have for learning to make sushi is to keep practicing.  It gets easier and more intuitive every time.  Plus there’s that whole getting to eat your practice rolls thing.  I think this post has the least text of any post I’ve ever written.  Welcome to the final days of 3L, everybody!

