The Easiest Poached Egg Breakfast Sandwich

I should be writing an outline right now.  It’s the time in the semester where everything starts to come to a head and I should be working every chance I get.  But instead I’m making leisurely Sunday brunches and getting my nails done in sub-zero weather.  Oops.

Yes, my coffee table is a mess.  Yes, that is a Ron Swanson bobble head.  Why yes, I AM the world's best girlfriend, why do you ask?

Don’t mind everything in the background of this photo.  Yes, my coffee table is a mess. Yes, that is a Ron Swanson bobble head. Why yes, I AM the world’s best girlfriend, why do you ask?

In fairness, the place where I got my nails done on Friday was a) cheap, b) quick, and c) they give you CHAMPAGNE while you get your nails done.  So don’t even pretend like that was a bad choice.  And since we’re already on the subject of not-bad bad choices, let’s talk about the breakfast sandwiches I made today.  First, a confession: I cannot poach an egg to save my life.  I cannot tell you how many decent, worthy little eggs have sacrificed themselves to my pointless efforts.  It’s a lot.  BUT a few weeks ago, the cooking blog world was SHAKEN UP with the revelation that you can totally poach eggs in the oven.  Maybe you missed this, because you’re normal people who do normal things with their lives.  Which is why I’m here, to keep you informed about what the weirdos are busy doing.  This week, it’s poaching eggs in the oven, which is infinitely easier and a much safer bet than the stovetop method, AND it has the added bonus of letting you cook up to a dozen at a time.  Which means when you host fabulous brunches for all your closest friends you don’t have to be that sad person hiding in the kitchen producing one poached egg at a time.

Eggies go in like this….

Eggies go in like this….

And they come out like this!

And they come out like this!

So to oven-poach as many eggs as suits your fancy, preheat the oven to 350.  Put 1T. water in each muffin…spot?  Holder?  Crater?  There has to be a word for this that I’m blanking on.  Anyway, you know what I mean.  Put an egg in each water-filled…thing.  Bake for 10-12 min.  A word of caution: the directions I use say it takes 8-10 minutes, but that’s never been enough time for me– I always have to do at least 12 minutes, if not one or two more.  When eggs are set (they’ll still look jiggly when you take them out, especially because of the water in there), use a spoon to scoop them out.  It’s SO easy, I promise.  I’m never going to stand over a pot of boiling water staring at feathered egg whites and feeling sorry for myself again.  …I need to get out more.

The rest of your sandwiches can come together while your eggs are poaching themselves in the oven.  You could totally just pile on some sliced deli ham, but I prefer to cook a ham steak on the stovetop for a few minutes, then cut it into English muffin-sized shapes.  Toast your english muffins (or whatever bread you’re using), spread with dijon mustard and sprinkle with shredded cheese of your choice (I would suggest Gruyere if you’ve got it around).  When the eggs come out of the oven, switch your broiler on and toast the english muffins for a few minutes til the cheese has melted.  Put all your pieces together and you’re good to go!

Into the broiler...

Jarslberg- and Dijon-covered English muffins go into the broiler…

And back out again, only now melty and delicious-smelling.

And come back out again, only now melty and delicious-smelling.

If you want to make these semi-vegetarian, you could swap out the ham for mushrooms, and/or add any vegetables you want!  I had some arugula that was destined for these sandwiches, but in my bleary-eyed state I guess I forgot.  Now I suppose I’ll just have to cook these again to make up for the omission…darn.

A bonus that comes with poaching your eggs in the oven is how cute their little shape will be.  I want to keep this little guy for a pet.  This is starting to get weird.

A bonus that comes with poaching your eggs in the oven is how cute their little shape will be. I want to keep this little guy for a pet. This is starting to get weird. Sorry.

You don’t need directions for putting together a sandwich, but I just did it to you anyway.  Hope you’re not offended.  At the very least I will tell myself I showed you the best way EVER to poach eggs.  Also, this sandwich is delicious and quite fast for a Sunday brunch recipe.  I’m going to call that a successful post.

THE RUNNY YOLK THE RUNNY YOLK THE RUNNY YOLK.

THE RUNNY YOLK THE RUNNY YOLK THE RUNNY YOLK.

