Baked Nutella Doughnuts for a Snow Day

Guys, I’m writing this post from my bed and THAT IS SO EXCITING.  For lots of reasons.  But mostly because I finallyyyy got my snow day.  Granted, it’s doing all sorts of nasty things to my class schedule, but it’s hard to care right now, because did I mention the writing this from my bed in the middle of the afternoon thing?  DC has been short on snow in a BIG way so far this winter, and while I’m not really complaining, I have to admit I’ve been a little sad about it.  We’ve gotten nothing but negligible flurries all winter long!

Of course sometimes those “negligible flurries” appear out of nowhere on Valentine’s Day and suddenly your bare legs and poorly-shod feet feel…unprepared. But come on, you can’t say a surprise snowfall on Valentine’s Day isn’t at least a little bit romantic!

Now I don’t know if you knew this, but SOME people associate Valentine’s Day with chocolate.  I know, alert the media.  58 million pounds of chocolate are consumed each year the week of Valentine’s.  So it’s safe to say anybody reading this has probably indulged in a little chocolate in the past few days.

Yes they're pretty, and technically you can eat them, but roses are just not the same.  Sorry, guys.

Yes they’re pretty, and technically you can eat them, but roses are just not the same. Sorry, guys.

As we all know, chocolate plays very nicely with lots of other foods, including (and especially) nuts.  Hazelnuts and chocolate are basically bosom buddies, and this is a beautiful friendship that deserves our respect.  We should all be paying homage with a spoonful of Nutella at every meal (you’re welcome for this suggestion).  For Valentine’s brunch this year, I decided to inaugurate the doughnut pan I got for Christmas (thanks Mom and Dad!) with Nutella doughnuts, and you know what?  I have ZERO regrets.

I want to wear these as jewelry.  Would that be gauche?

I want to wear these as jewelry. Would that be gauche?

This recipe is dead easy and quick– I had no idea baked doughnuts were so simple.  I’m sort of sorry that I know now, since this information could get very dangerous, very fast.  And while we’re on the subject of “dangerous,” I still have half the Nutella glaze sitting in my fridge.  ….Send help?

JK, don't.

Just kidding, don’t.

Baked Nutella Doughnuts with Nutella Glaze (from Cooking Classy)

  • 1/4 c. Sugar
  • 3 T. Brown Sugar
  • 1/3 c. Nutella
  • 3 T. Butter, softened
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 t. Vanilla (per usual, be generous)
  • 1/2 c. Milk
  • 1 1/4 c. Flour
  • 1 T. Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1 1/4 t. Baking Powder
  • 1/4 t. Salt

Nutella Glaze

  • 1 c. Powdered Sugar
  • 3 T. Nutella
  • 4-6 T. Milk (start with 4– I didn’t end up needing to add any more to get the desired thickness)
  • 1/2 t. Vanilla (ha.)

Preheat oven to 400; grease a doughnut pan and set aside.  In a large bowl, whip together sugars, Nutella, and butter.  Stir in eggs and vanilla.  In three shifts, sift in flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt, alternating with milk and stirring each time until just combined.  Divide into doughnut pan, filling about 3/4 of the way (I ended up with 12 doughnuts).  Bake approx. 8 minutes.  Allow to cool for a few minutes before transferring to a rack to cool completely.

In a small bowl, whisk together sugar, Nutella, milk, and vanilla.  Add milk as necessary to get your desired thickness; I like mine to be thin enough that I can dip the doughnut in and get some drips down the sides, but not so thin that it will all drip off.  Let your spoon (ahem, finger?) be your guide.  I like to dip the less pretty side of the doughnut (the top side when it’s baking), since the glaze makes it look shiny and nice, and the other side already looks perfect (see above).

BF ate four and a half of these for breakfast.  His metabolism is all kinds of not fair.

BF ate four and a half of these for breakfast. His metabolism is all kinds of not fair.

These little guys are magically light and fluffy and just the right amount of chocolate-y without being overwhelming, and I’m completely obsessed.  Before these, I can’t remember the last time I ate a doughnut.  Time to fix that.  There’s something about the idea of a leisurely morning with a doughnut and a big cup of coffee that has a lot of appeal right now.  Maybe it’s the whole being-snuggled-in-bed-at-4-in-the-afternoon thing.  Except I don’t drink coffee.  Can you do this with tea?  I feel like no.  A plea to anyone who drinks coffee: come eat doughnuts with me so I can live vicariously through you.  Thanks.  Knock loudly when you get here, I’ll probably be asleep.

