Roasted Tomato and Broccoli with Couscous and Feta

In my last post, I talked about aiming for balance in all things, and I have since realized that one thing in my life is seriously lacking in this area: this blog.  My last four posts have been breakfast foods!  I wish I could say I don’t know how/why this happened, but I totally do.  Breakfast food is the best food and the most exciting food, which means it’s the food I’m most eager to share with all of you!  And brunch is just the MOST fun, obviously.  But I guess (she said grudgingly) we all have to eat lunch and dinner too, sometimes.  *sigh*  So with that in mind, I’m setting out to post a few non-breakfast recipes here on lawandlentils, before things spiral out of control and I become the person who’s eating eggs morning, noon, and night (who are we kidding, I’m already there).

Case in point: avocado toast with scrambled eggs is my dinner prooooobably once a week.  Also, can we talk about the unreasonable ratio of avo to pit going on here?  Mean trick, nature!

Case in point: avocado toast with scrambled eggs is my dinner prooooobably once a week. Also, can we talk about the unreasonable ratio of avo to pit going on here? Mean trick, nature!

So with my menu-expanding goals in mind, here I am with one of my favorite combinations: tomato, broccoli, and feta.  Really, tomato and broccoli are born-to-be besties, but they also play quite nicely with feta.  And I was not about to leave cheese out of this recipe if I could help it.  Just because I’m temporarily departing from breakfast recipes doesn’t mean I’m abandoning ALL my principles!

Roasted Broccoli and Tomato Couscous

This recipe is super simple and delicious.  Roasting is my single favorite way to prep vegetables (or even fruit for that matter– hellooooo, grapes).  It adds such wonderful depth of flavor to ANYthing.  I will admit that I’ve always like broccoli, even as a pretty picky kid, but I think roasted broccoli would win over even lifelong haters.  And cherry tomatoes get so rich in flavor when roasted– I think they become even sweeter than they started, if that’s possible.  I was never a tomato fan growing up, and roasted tomatoes were definitely my gateway to full tomato acceptance.  It’s a work in progress, but I’ve got nothing but love when it comes to roasted cherry tomatoes.  The roasted veggies are really the heart of this dish.  I served them tonight with Israeli couscous, but you could just as easily do them on quinoa (my original plan), or pasta, or a salad.  And feta is the perfect cheese to pair with this dish– its saltiness plays really nicely with the deep roasted flavor of the vegetables, especially the broccoli.

Roasted Broccoli and Tomato Couscous-- with a fork!

Roasted Tomato and Broccoli with Couscous and Feta

  • 1 Broccoli crown, cut into florets
  • 1 lb. Cherry Tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 6 cloves Garlic, sliced in half
  • 1 T. dried Oregano
  • 1 T. dried Dill (I like a lot of spices in all my cooking, so reduce if you prefer less)
  • 1 c. dried Israeli Couscous, cooked according to package directions
  • 1/2 c. Feta, crumbled
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Preheat oven to 425 and line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper (three cheers for one fewer dish to wash).  Mix broccoli and tomatoes with garlic, oregano, dill, a pinch of salt, a generous pinch of pepper, and a drizzle of olive oil.  Spread on cookie sheet and roast for approx. 20 minutes.  In the meantime, cook couscous and set aside.  When broccoli edges have browned and tomatoes have burst, remove from oven and stir with couscous and a drizzle of olive oil in large serving bowl.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Top with crumbled feta to serve.

I dreamed up this recipe a few days ago and was really eager to try it, so I’m happy to report it was a success!  Fresh dill would be stellar in this recipe, and I think a squeeze of lemon juice could add a nice dimension too.  Mental note for next time!

