Breakfast Pizza

Happy Halloween-ish!

Janet Snakehole and Bert Macklin were busy trying to steal the President's rubies this weekend, but they asked me to tell you they hope you had a spooktacular night!

Janet Snakehole and Bert Macklin were busy trying to steal the President’s rubies this weekend, but they asked me to tell you they hope you had a spooktacular night!

Technically I didn’t strictly do anything for Halloween, since I had to take a part of the bar (talk about spooky!) on Saturday morning, but I made up for it that afternoon/evening with good friends and ghoulish activities.  Plus a coworker brought these little guys to the office on Friday– are they adorable or what?

"Happy Whoooo-loween!" was what her email about these lil guys said.  She gets me.

“Happy Whoooo-loween!” was what her email about these lil guys said. She gets me.

PLUS, another coworker brought his new doggies to the office!  Stellar, stellar day all around.

When their dad had to step out for a moment, these two faithful friends didn't budge until he came back.  Now that's love.

When their dad had to step out for a moment, these two faithful friends didn’t budge until he came back. Now that’s love.

And to top it all off, even though it’s been pretty nippy here this weekend, DC’s trees are FINALLY turning, so it actually looks like fall around here.  About time– it’s already snowing back where I’m from!

I know I'll be kicking myself for rushing the cold weather in a matter of weeks.  That will be future me's problem.  Past me is always so mean to her!  I can tell even as I write that this makes no sense.  Oh well.

I know I’ll be kicking myself for rushing the cold weather in a matter of weeks. That will be future me’s problem. Past me is always so mean to her! I can tell even as I write that this is going to be a nonsensical, crazy lady kind of post.  Sorry, guys.  Let’s blame it on the late hour at which I’m writing, k?

Now that I’ve dumped several superfluous iPhone photos on you (you’re welcome, by the way), let’s get down to the MOST exciting part of this weekend– that beautiful, glorious hour of free sleep we call Daylight Savings.  Was this morning the best or was it the best?  I felt so accomplished!  It’s amazing what you can get done when you get up early (even when it’s not really early).  Of course, there are no plans to make this a permanent scheme.  But it was a nice change to actually be able to get a lot of sleep and not lose the whole day to staying snuggled up in bed.  Win-win.

Oh also I did this.

Oh also I did this.

Perhaps MOST importantly, Daylight Savings presents a golden opportunity for brunch-making.  Pretty sure there’s no better way to spend your bonus hour than in cooking up some high-calorie breakfast magic.  And I would know.  I’m an expert in this area.  Certified.

My mother will hate this runny yolk but A) she's very wrong; and B) they're only runny because I cooked it for slightly less time, so it's totally avoidable if you're crazy like she is and don't like runny yolks.

My mother will hate this runny yolk but A) she’s very wrong; and B) they’re only runny because I cooked the pizza for slightly less time than I could have, so it’s totally avoidable if you’re crazy like she is and don’t like runny yolks.

So, umm, this was good.  Like, crazy good.  I generally try not to tell BF that what I have cooked for him is delicious, but I can’t stop when it comes to this pizza.  I could tell he was annoyed.  But then I gave him more pizza and he felt better.

Because, hello.  Hel-lo.

Because, hello. Hel-lo.  And yes, the tomatoes are completely superfluous and only there to make me feel less guilty about this breakfast.  Spoiler alert– it worked.  And just LOOK at all that green!!  SO healthy.  Woof.

Rather than a real recipe, I’m just gonna give some assembly tips here– I trust you to choose what you want to put on your own breakfast pizza.  I went with a mixture of mozzarella, goat, and parmesan cheeses, plus tomatoes, bacon, eggs, and scallions.  And I regret nothing.

Breakfast Pizza Tips

  • Coat your baking pan with a thin layer of canola oil and then sprinkle the surface with cornmeal.  This will A) give the bottom crust a nice crunch; but more importantly, it will B) keep the pizza from sticking to the pan like ca-razy.
  • Sprinkle some garlic salt, dried oregano, and parmesan cheese onto the crust before you add any other toppings to give your plain crust a little flavor boost.  I never make a pizza without this combo anymore!
  • Cook the bacon before you put it on the pizza.  I realize this should be self-explanatory, but, umm, some of us have maybe not been entirely clear on this in the past.  And some of us have maybe ended up with a really gross mess that was supposed to be a delicious rosemary bacon potato pizza and it was really sad and emotional.  I mean, not anybody I know, or anything.  And definitely not me.  Totally.  Why would you even ask that?
  • Don’t put your eggs too close to the edges, or this will happen to you:
Sad pan(da).

Sad pan(da).  Luckily the eggs came right up, thanks to the aforementioned canola/cornmeal layer.

  • If your crust needs to bake for more than 10 minutes (mine did), top it with everything but the eggs and scallions and cook the pizza until it has 10 minutes to go, then add the eggs.  Overbaked eggs are not your friend.
  • And in the same vein, don’t bake the scallions.  Just don’t.  Add them when the pizza comes out of the oven and future you will be so happy with past you’s decision on this front.  Good job, past you!  Have a slice of breakfast pizza as a reward.
breakfast pizza

NO, I didn’t over-photograph this. Shut UP!

I am not even a little bit ashamed to admit that, thanks to the power of leftovers, this is literally the only thing I ate today.

I lied.  I kind of am ashamed.  But also, it was delicious, so no.  Does it make it better that I only had two meals?  Like, one less repetition mitigates the offense?  Probably not.  That was too lawyer-y, wasn’t it.  I wonder if I’ve passed the limit on lame jokes/comments in a single blog post yet.

I lied some more– I don’t wonder if I have passed this limit.  I know I have.  Go make yourself some breakfast pizza.  You will feel better about this whole thing, I promise.  Worked for me!

