Tomato-Thyme Tartine and Death By Chocolate Cookies

Farmers Market TartineI know that at this point I’ve probably alienated any reader I’ve ever had (sorry, Mom) by babbling on and ON about how great farmer’s markets are, but I don’t care.  LOOK at that tartine.  How could anything ever feel more summer-y than that?  It couldn’t, duh.  And it’s brought to you by farmer’s markets.  I’m pretty sure I’m going to fall to the sidewalk and sob some Saturday in late October when I discover that my local farmer’s market has closed for the summer.  Yes, it will be embarrassing.  But I will be so blinded by my tears and my sorrow that I probably won’t notice the staring passersby.  No, no one has ever accused me of being melodramatic.  Why do you ask?

I'm too embarrassed to tell you how many photos I took of this lunch.  Suffice it to say, a lot.

I’m too embarrassed to tell you how many photos I took of this lunch. Suffice it to say, a lot.

Nobody likes to cook in the middle of the day in the middle of the summer.  I don’t care if you’ve got A/C or not, it just feels wrong.  Which is why this is so great– it takes approximately three minutes to make, and most of that is toasting time.

Farmers Market Tartine

Sorry, I’ll stop now. Maybe.  And yes, that is a bite mark in the corner.  I may or may not have started to eat and then decided my lunch was so pretty that the photos I’d already taken did not suffice.  WHATEVER.

I make some version of this tartine every single Saturday for lunch in the summertime, and it has yet to get old.  BF’s description of this one in particular was, “an explosion of amazing flavor in my mouth.”  That’s high praise coming from someone who usually says, “I like this,” or, if I’ve done REALLY well, “I like this a lot.”  This lunch is incredibly versatile– you can use any bread, any cheese, any fruit or veggie on top– you essentially have carte blanche to use whatever’s fresh and exciting in your kitchen (or whatever’s about to go bad and desperately needs to be eaten– we’ve all been there, no judgment).  Last time I made this, I used sliced peaches and honey on an ancient grain in place of the ingredients used here.  Use your imagination!

To assemble a tartine (which is maybe the snootiest word for “open-faced sandwich” there ever could be, and which I confused with “terrine” for the LONGEST time), you do not need a structured recipe.  I have faith in you.  But I will narrate my actions in making today’s lunch just in case.

Toast your favorite bread.  Smear it with goat cheese (probably too much, but who’s counting).  Top with chopped tomatoes.  Drizzle with a teeeeensy bit of olive oil.  Sprinkle with sea salt and pepper.  Top with fresh thyme leaves.  Devour at an alarming rate because you decided to leave the apartment this morning and not return for lunch until 3:30.  (This last part is entirely optional.)  For dessert, make yourself the cookies below.  This part is NOT optional in the least.

Death by Chocolate Cookies

You can stop pinching yourself, you are not dreaming. This Is Your Life, and you can have these really quickly. Yay you!

Death By Chocolate Cookies (adapted from Martha Stewart)

  • 8 oz. Semisweet Chocolate, chopped
  • 4 T. Unsalted Butter
  • 2 Eggs
  • 3/4 c. Brown sugar
  • 1 t. Vanilla (but you should use more because duh)
  • 2/3 c. Flour
  • 4 T. Cocoa Powder
  • 1/2 t. Baking Powder
  • 1/2 t. Salt
  • 1 bag (12 oz.) Semisweet Chocolate Morsels

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and microwave chopped chocolate and butter in 20-second increments until just melted.  In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt.  In a large bowl, beat eggs, sugar, and vanilla until fluffy.  Beat in melted chocolate on a low setting (or just, you know, slowly, since this recipe only really requires a whisk).  Mix in flour mixture until just combined, and stir in chocolate morsels.  The batter will seems kind of brownie-ish instead of cookie-ish, but that’s on purpose so don’t worry about it.  Drop large spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and bake 12-15 minutes until cookies are crackly on top but soft in the center.  Tie yourself to a heavy piece of furniture to keep yourself from eating these until they’re at least a little cooled.

GUYS these cookies are SO GOOD and I only made a half batch when I made them (perils of baking on a whim at 10 pm) and it’s the greatest sorrow I have ever experienced because there were so few of them and they’re already gone.  They were so good that I forgot to take any more photos of them after I took the one above.  Because I was too busy stuffing my face with chocolate-y goodness.  I’m not always one to go totally nuts over the mere idea of chocolate, but these were SO necessary and SO delicious and I have planned my entire grocery-shopping route around getting the ingredients to make them again first.  My only concern is that BF will feel I have come to love these cookies more than I love him.

Meh, he’ll live.

