Homemade Funfetti Cake with Toasted Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting

Funfetti Cake

Oh hey.  Sorry, didn’t see you there– got a little distracted by the extremely exciting overabundance of sprinkles in my life.  Somehow, I managed to not get into sprinkles until I was an adult.  Which seems weird, and possibly means I am regressing in maturity as I age?  Though come to think of it, I’m an 80-year-old woman trapped in a 23-year-old’s body, so maybe it wouldn’t be such a bad thing to regress a little?  Not sure.  I’ll mull it over with a big piece of funfetti cake and get back to you.

Pacman Funfetti Cake

Case in point: I got so excited when I realized the cake looked like Pacman (despite the fact that I have never once payed Pacman) that I felt compelled to take a photo. But seriously, it’s a rainbow Pacman, how fun is that?!

So let’s talk about this cake.  It’s an overgrown child’s dream cake.  Homemade funfetti cake with toasted marshmallow buttercream.  I made this cake to celebrate something, and I don’t think it could look any more festive if I tried.  Well, I guess that isn’t wholly true…I attempted a super twee topping the first time, involving cutting circles out of a sheet of paper, trying to make a cutesy pattern on the top.  It ended messily and sadly, so full-on sprinkles it was.  #noregrets.

Pretty sure I would have eaten these just like this.  They look so snuggly!

Pretty sure I would have eaten these just like this. They look so snuggly!  That was weird.  Sorry.

Protip: The batter makes a little more than 2 cakes’ worth, so I used the extra to make half a dozen cupcakes.  In hindsight, at least when you live with only one other person and you’re going to be attempting to get coworkers and friends to take your baked goods off your hands, cupcakes might be a better option, since they’re more portable and a handy size.

Second Protip: See BF's slice in the background there?  Yeah, don't ever take a slice that big.  This cake is ALL kinds of sweet and your blood sugar will never be the same.

Second Protip: See BF’s slice in the background there? Yeah, don’t ever take a slice that big. This cake is ALL kinds of sweet and your blood sugar will never be the same.

Have any of you tried that cake slice-y trick I’m seeing all over the Internet lately?  Where you slice in the middle and then push the cake together to keep it from drying out?  I’m so intrigued, but I also have a lot of nostalgic (I guess) affection for what a classically sliced cake looks like, so I haven’t tried it yet.  Well, that or I almost never bake cakes so the opportunity hasn’t exactly arisen with great frequency.  I’m not Martha Stewart.

Toasted Marshmallow Frosting

Third Protip (I am FULL of good advice today!): When you toast a bunch of marshmallows and then try to mix them into your frosting, take steps to prevent this. Because cleaning it will make you die a little inside.  Martha would never let this happen.

Funfetti Cake (loveandoliveoil)

  • 3 c. Cake Flour (or just normal flour if you’re willing to sift it a few times)
  • 2 1/2 c. Sugar
  • 1 T. Baking Powder
  • 1 t. Salt
  • 1 1/2 c. Unsalted Butter, softened and cubed
  • 1 1/4 c. Buttermilk, divided (if you don’t have it, just mix a splash of white vinegar into milk and let it sit for a few min)
  • 5 Eggs
  • 2 t. Vanilla Extract
  • 1 c. Sprinkles

Preheat oven to 350, and butter 3 cake pans (or two and use the rest for cupcakes, like I did).  Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large mixing bowl.  Mix in butter and 1 c. buttermilk, and beat until fluffy.  In a small bowl, mix remaining buttermilk, eggs, and vanilla.  Add in stages to flour mixture, thoroughly combining each time.  Stir in sprinkles and divide batter among baking pans.  Bake 35-45 min, turning halfway through.  When cakes are lightly golden around the edges, remove and cool on a rack for an hour, then run a knife around the pans’ edges and turn cakes out to cool completely.

Toasted Marshmallow Frosting

  • 1 c. Unsalted Butter, softened
  • 4 c. Confectioner’s Sugar
  • 2 t. Vanilla
  • 2 t. Milk
  • 15 Jumbo Marshmallows

Beat butter, sugar, vanilla, and milk until fluffy.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and turn broiler on high.  Toast marshmallows on cookie sheet for JUST a minute or two.  Don’t blink, David Tennant fans, because those little guys will burn in a heartbeat.  When they’re a beautiful dark toasty brown, take ’em out and mix into frosting.  Stir them in a little first, though- -otherwise those sticky marshmallows will climb all the way up your mixer and make a HOLY mess.  Allow frosting (and cake) to cool before frosting the cake.

I really like the speckled effect created by the toasty brown bits of the marshmallows.  So cute!

I really like the speckled effect created by the toasty brown bits of the marshmallows. So cute!

Once again, I was paranoid when frosting between the cake layers that I wouldn’t have enough frosting for the top and sides, so I skimped, and I wound up with a bunch of leftover frosting.  Every time!  Will I never learn?

If you’re storing this cake in the fridge, make sure you let it sit out for a bit before serving.  The buttercream will solidify in the fridge, and letting it get to room temperature before you cut it will make your life a whole lot easier.

Guys, I want to have a cutesy-wootsy party with sparklers and balloons and this cake.  Every damn day.  It’s so precious and fun!  This is embarrassing.  Don’t tell anybody about this.  That’s how the internet works, right?

