Potato, Caramelized Onion, and Blue Cheese Galette

Happy 5th of July!!  Time for fireworks, cookouts, and as many Sousa marches as you can stand (which should be a lot, for the record)!  I’m not ready for the 4th to be over yet, so I vote we just keep this thing going and make Independence Day a 72-hour affair, ok?  Ok.  Glad we’re all agreed.

DC is a pretty spectacular place to be, but never more so than on the 4th.

DC is a pretty spectacular place to be, but never more so than on the 4th.

This 4th was extra special for me because two of my dearest friends in the whole world came to visit.  And while I value their friendship for several reasons, I’m not ashamed to admit that one of the (many, many, many) reasons I was so excited to see them was to feed them.  Cooking for people is how I express affection, and while expressing affection for BF on a daily basis is great and all (meh) (kidding) (maybe), it’s always nice to be able to cook for the other people I love too!

And I definitely love these three.  Look at them, they're so precious-- who wouldn't love them?!

And I definitely love these three. Look at them, they’re so precious– who wouldn’t love them?!

I have to stop blogging right after my visitors leave.  I’m still too nostalgic to think straight and avoid waxing on and on about how great these people are.

Boys

Except when BF and my friends mischievously gang up on me. This whole BF-befriending-old-friends thing may have a downside…

ANYway.  You guys are great, I love you, come visit anytime and I will happily feed you!  Even my 6’6″ friend who has yet to find the bottom of the pit that is his stomach– I will always have a full fridge waiting for you, promise! 🙂

Potato Galette 2

So let’s talk about this thing that I fed to these friends of mine.  It’s a super simple galette– which, for the record, is just a gussied-up term for lazy pie– with purple potatoes, caramelized onions, and blue cheese.  Why purple potatoes?  Because that’s what looked fun last week at the farmer’s market.  You can use whatever color potatoes your lil’ heart desires.  But you can’t deny how fun the purple ones are.  I mean, hello.

Serve with a side of arugula tossed with a quick lemon vinaigrette and you're set!

Serve with a side of arugula tossed with a quick lemon vinaigrette and you’re set!

I talked about how to make a perfect pie crust in my very first post (which was already over a year ago–  what?!), so I won’t go through it again here.  Minus the time it takes to caramelize the onions and put together the crust, this galette comes together pretty quickly.  If you’ve already caramelized the onions, this is definitely a quick weeknight meal.

Potato, Caramelized Onion, and Blue Cheese Galette

Slice 2 onions and cook over low heat in 1 T. olive oil until soft and brown (which will take forever, no matter what lies the internet tries to sell you).  Clean potatoes (either a few large ones or several small) and boil for about 10 minutes.  In the meantime, preheat the oven to 350 and put your pie crust together; roll the crust out on a lightly floured cookie sheet.  Allow potatoes to cool enough to handle, then slice.  Lay potato slices in concentric circles on crust, leaving a 1-2″ border around the edge, and season with a dash of salt and pepper (more pepper than salt).  Top with caramelized onions and a few ounces of crumbled blue cheese, then fold over the outer edge of the crust.  Bake for 45-60 minutes until crust is beginning to brown.  If the onions/cheese begin to look too done, cover them lightly with foil.  I like the way the cheese takes on a new flavor dimension when it begins to brown, but I know it’s less pretty so I won’t hold the foil against you should you go that route.

Galettes are great for artistically challenged people like yours truly– they’re not supposed to be pretty.  “Free-form” is the messy cook’s best friend.  Food is supposed to taste good first, and look good second.  In the internet world of professional food photography and pinterest it sometimes feels like taste get sacrificed to visual appeal.  No matter how good a recipe may taste, if it doesn’t look good people don’t want to read about it.  I totally get sucked into that too!  I always try to remind myself that it’s like wedding cakes– pretty as they are, they’re too often really dry and meh-tasting inside, and when push comes to shove, cake is for eating and not for looking at (thank god).  Food beauty is skin deep too!

