Summer Non-Cooking and Cantaloupe-Brie Salad

Soooo, it’s been almost a month since my last post– oops!  Time flies, I guess.  It’s amazing how quickly summers can fill up!  And it’s also probably not a coincidence that my last post was the day before I started my summer fellowship…BUT!  I am back!  And SO ready to share some summer recipe inspiration.

Like the coming ones, the past few weekends have been full of visitors and visits, which is just the best.  Plus, it means I get to eat out a lot more than I usually do when it’s just BF and I, which is always nice!  However, all these meals out with visitors has seriously cut into my creative time in the kitchen, so it’s definitely time to buckle down and get back to work.

That said, I'm never going to say NO to wine tasting in Virginia...

That said, I’m never going to say NO to wine tasting and lunch in Virginia…

It’s officially oppressively humid in DC today, and I’m not so much looking forward to the next few months… DC is great, and a nice place to live most of the year, but somebody probably should have stopped and thought about what building the capitol in a swamp was really going to mean in the summer months.  All those poor saps (and I’m allowed to say this because I’m one of ’em) schlepping around DC in their business attire look pretty miserable these days.  I’m pretty sure I could actually see the air today, and it’s only June!

Which is why escaping to greener pastures is so important.  Greener pastures full of wine.  I promise I'm done with the vineyard photos after this one.

Which is why escaping to greener pastures is so important. Greener pastures full of wine. I promise I’m done with the vineyard photos after this one.

SO.  Let’s talk about all the not-cooking I’ll be doing this summer, eh?  I’ve made an obscene amount of guacamole so far, and I have no plans to change that.  Right now, strawberries are my favorite guac add-in, but I did a roasted corn and tomato version this weekend and was pretty fat and happy, let me tell ya.  I’m quite certain there’s nothing in this world as magical as an avocado.

Plus the strawberries look so pretty mixed into the guacamole.  Strawberry season is SO depressingly fleeting, but I guess it makes us that much more appreciative…or something.

Plus the strawberries look so pretty mixed into the guacamole. Strawberry season is depressingly fleeting, but I guess it makes us that much more appreciative…or something.

Another recipe I tested out this week (and liked so much I’m making it again tonight) takes about three seconds to make and feels perfect for patio dining.  It’s just thin slices of brie and cantaloupe layered on top of fresh arugula and drizzled with balsamic vinegar.  That’s it.  Not one iota of cooking and about two minutes of effort, and you have a delicious, light dinner that looks so pretty on the plate!

Summeriest thing ever.  Nothing summerier has ever happened, anywhere.  Yes, I am open to a side job working for Merriam Webster as a word inventor.  Who am I kidding, I’m a poor grad student, I’m pretty much open to ANY job at this point.

Also, I got SUPA lucky and the melon was perfectly ripe when I cut into it.  Pretty sure this was a first and will never happen again.  And you thought Halley’s Comet was a once-in-a-lifetime occurrence!

I’m so excited to get back into blogging again.  I’ve got cinnamon buns, and mini-croque madames, and fish tacos up my sleeve and waiting to be shared!  Til next time, all!  Which I promise won’t be a month from now…I hope. 😉

P.S. If I had a grill I’d totally be grilling that cantaloupe like it was my job.  If you have one, DO IT.

