Sweet Potato Goat Cheese Tart

It’s finals season.  Boo.  This means the fun is over for the next few weeks.  BUT.  The past month has been so chock-full of fun visitors that I can’t feel too sad about the doom looming in my future.  I loved getting to enter finals season on such a high note!  Between visiting friends and family, we had visitors every weekend for the past four weeks, and it’s been SO great to see everyone!  Our last visitor was my dear friend Ellie who I haven’t seen in FAR too long, and it was just the very best.  So glad you were here, beebee, and can’t wait to see you again soon!

Look at that cutie with her yummy pom mojito (a much wiser order than my drink).  Beauty and brains, what more could you want in a friend?

Look at that cutie with her yummy pom mojito (a much wiser order than my drink). Beauty and brains, what more could you want in a friend?

One of the best things about having people over is getting to make them guinea pigs for testing out new recipes– er, I mean, getting to cook delicious things for them that you’ve definitely made before and can guarantee won’t turn into huge, food poisoning-inducing disasters.  Totally.  This tart was one such experiment, but luckily it turned out more than ok!

This tart is SUPER easy and pretty much impossible to mess up.  Unless you forget it’s in the oven, in which case I’m so sorry and can only say that we’ve all been there (a lot.  A lot a lot).  I have never worked with puff pastry before, and BOY does it ever appeal to my lazy side.  I mean, what the heck have I been doing making crusts every time I want a tart??  What a fool I was!  What a dominated fool, to think crust was the earth and sky (My Fair Lady??  Anybody??)!  Puff pastry is a lazy lady’s best friend, and you can be darn sure it’s going to have a permanent place in my freezer henceforth.

BF took this action shot and was super proud of himself.  He's got a real future in iPhone photography, that one.

BF took this action shot and was super proud of himself. He’s got a real future in iPhone photography, that one.

Sweet Potato Goat Cheese Tart (makes two– original recipe here)

Serves 4-6 for a meal, or several as an appetizer

  • 2 sheets Puff Pastry (thaw if frozen)
  • 2 large Sweet Potatoes
  • Several T. Goat Cheese, crumbled
  • 1 Egg, lightly beaten
  • 4 T. Olive Oil (1 T. for potatoes, 3 for chili oil)
  • 1 T. Chili Pepper
  • 2 Garlic Cloves, minced
  • Salt & Pepper

*Note: When I made this for the second time, I added baby spinach after the tart came out of the oven, and that was definitely a good call– next time I’ll use arugula!

Heat oven to 350 and slice potatoes thin (use a mandolin if you’ve got one– I used mine on the 1/8″ setting).  Drizzle lightly with olive oil and bake for around 20 min.

Raise oven temp to 400.  Line baking sheet with parchment paper and place puff pastry on top; poke entire surface with a fork and brush lightly with beaten egg.  Sprinkle goat cheese on the pastry, leaving a bit of a border around the edge.  Lay sweet potato slices on top; it’s fine if they overlap a bit, but keep the border clear (you don’t want things falling off when the “puff” part comes into play in the oven).  Season with salt and pepper, and bake for 25-30 minutes until puff pastry is golden all over (check the bottom to be sure it’s cooked).

To make finishing oil: stir olive oil, chili pepper, and garlic together; season with salt and pepper to taste.  Drizzle over the tart after it comes out of the oven.  Serve warm or at room temp.  But serve it warm, because goat cheese is always better warm.  It just is.

This recipe makes two tarts, which BF and I didn’t eat in one sitting; I learned the second night that this tart reheats beautifully!  I put it in the oven at 275 for about 10 minutes and it was as good as new.  Yay, leftover success!

Can somebody please come visit me so I have an excuse to make this again?  Please and thank you.

