SMAFE-BLT (Sriracha Mayo Avocado Fried Egg BLT): Or, The Day I Died And Went To Heaven

Guys.  This is serious.  Really, really serious.  You can stop searching for the perfect sandwich, because I’ve found it.

Crying at the beauty of this thing. Ok not literally, but I haven’t had lunch yet so the odds of tears are sort of a toss-up.

Last week, I was really craving a BLT for some reason.  Which is really quite strange, because I’m pretty sure I’ve had a BLT once in my entire life.  But I had bacon I needed to get rid of (ha) and everybody likes them so much and I wanted in.  Except I cannot STAND mayonnaise on sandwiches.  And mostly you can just omit it and be fine, but everybody keeps telling me mayo is an integral part of the BLT’s flavor and it’s not a real one without it.  What’s a mayo-hating girl to do?  Ohhhhh I don’t know, add Sriracha and make it amazing?  Done.  GUYS I’m going to add Sriracha mayonnaise to everything I eat now.  This is so terrible.  Do you know how much more frequently I’m going to have to go to the gym now that I’ve found a way to get past mayo’s repulsive natural state?  This is the worst.  Just kidding, it’s the best.  Do it now.  And add a lot of Sriracha, because no matter what they tell you, variety is not the spice of life.  Sriracha is.

So…this is kiiiiinda messy to eat.  Be smart like me and use a fork.  Don't be dumb like BF and impatiently dig in before your girlfriend arrives with a ford for you.  You, your clothing, and your tablecloth will rue the day you made that choice.  Trust.

So…this is kiiiiinda messy to eat. Be smart like me and use a fork. Don’t be dumb like BF and impatiently dig in before your girlfriend arrives with a fork for you. You, your clothing, and your tablecloth will rue the day you made that choice. Trust.

Now, a BLT with Sriracha mayo would be great, and you could totally stop there and be fine.  But I have no self control and also happened to have a ripe avocado in my hot lil hands, and you can bet your bottom dollar that went in this bad boy.  AND since there was both bacon and avocado in this sandwich, it only seemed right to toss in the last member of the holy trinity: a fried egg.  I’m not a monster, people.

BF's bigger sandwich got a little out of hand, perhaps.  But I didn't hear him complaining.

BF’s bigger sandwich got a little out of hand, perhaps. But I didn’t hear him complaining.  Probably because he knows better. 😉

I’m gonna go ahead and assume you can pretty much figure out how to do this all by your lonesome, but just to clarify exactly what went into this insane sammy from the bottom up:

  • Sriracha Mayo (Mix sriracha into mayo to taste.  You got this.)
  • Arugula because that’s all I had.  Not a choice I regret.
  • Chopped Cherry Tomatoes (go ahead and slice up normal tomatoes if you have them, but sweet cherry tomatoes are ALWAYS better in my book)
  • Bacon
  • Sliced Avocado
  • Fried Egg

I was so excited about this recipe that I told my mom about it before I even posted it, and I totally lost her at fried egg.  Momma, I love you but you’re nuts.  It totally makes this already-awesome sandwich that much better.  Don’t drink my mom’s Kool-Aid guys; drink mine!  Mine’s got all the bacon-y, avocado-y, runny egg yolk-y goodness in it.

I have to stop blogging when hungry.  This is a highly explosive situation.

