Chocolate-Dipped Coconut Macaroons

So here’s the thing with this recipe: it couldn’t be any easier.  Honest.  6 ingredients gets you magic deliciousness in under 25 minutes (and about 23 of those are baking time).  I’ve been feeling a little uninspired in the kitchen lately, but an I-need-a-dessert-ASAP emergency forced me back into the kitchen to make these guys, and I think it re-sparked my love for the kitchen.  So not only are these cookies super easy and yummy, but they also rekindled my (briefly dimmed) love of cooking, which makes them extra-special winners in my book.

Chocolate-Dipped Coconut Macaroons (makes 1 dozen)

  • 2 Egg Whites
  • A bit under 1/2 c. Sugar (I know, I know, but I didn’t need a full 1/2 c. and I just eyeballed it, so this is the best I can do; aim to fill the 1/2 cup about 2/3 of the way)
  • 1/2 t. Vanilla
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1 1/3 c. shredded sweetened Coconut

Heat oven to 325 and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.  In a bowl whisk together egg whites, sugar, vanilla, and salt until glossy and foamy (this will only take a minute or two).  Stir in coconut.  Drop into mounds on lined cookie sheet (about 2 T. each) and bake 20-25 min, until golden.  Allow cookies to cool for a few minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

Now you COULD just eat these morsels right now.  But if you want to get a little snazzier...

Now you COULD just eat these morsels right now. But if you want to get a little snazzier…

Melt a few ounces of semisweet chocolate chips/chopped semisweet chocolate bar in the microwave– heat in 30-second chunks on half power, stirring in between sessions.  Dip the bottom of the macaroons in the melted chocolate and place on parchment paper to set.

Oh hey there, chocolate magic.  I see you hiding under there.

Oh hey there, chocolate magic. I see you hiding under there.

Coconut macaroons are SO easy and require such a minimal time investment, but there’s something about them that feels so snazzy and indulgent.  Although they’re a perfect anytime dessert, they would also be great for a certain upcoming holiday.  This Valentine’s BF and I are staying in, and I am all about the easy, minimal-effort dishes.  With that hint of chocolate that is apparently a non-negotiable for V-Day, these cookies would be the perfect way to easily finish off a special dinner for two.  OR a dinner for one, because it’s amazing in a kind of horrifying way how quickly these things disappear…

Seriously though, I love Valentine’s Day and I always have.  I get really sad when people hate on Love Day!  I know it’s a manufactured holiday created just so people will spend more money, but what’s so awful about taking a day to celebrate the love in your life?  Nobody said you have to spend oodles of money to mark the day and make it special.  And I can’t abide single people hating on Valentine’s either.  To me, Valentine’s is about celebrating ALL the love in your life, whether or not that love includes a significant other.  Just because you may not have a boyfriend or girlfriend on February 14th doesn’t mean there’s no one in your life who you love and who loves you; why not celebrate THAT love??  Valentine’s Day is for everybody, and I hope you ALL have a great Love Day 🙂

*Stepping down off soap box, thanks for putting up with this*

