Potato and Chickpea Masala

I LOVE LOVE LOVE Indian food–  there’s a deep and beautiful relationship between us.  But making it at home can be tough if you don’t have the right supplies.  I’ve tried a million recipes that replicate Indian flavors with ingredients more commonly found in American pantries, but they never taste the same.  Maybe there’s one out there, but I haven’t ever found a recipe that replicates these flavors without the legit spices, so I have slowly worked to collect them over the last 18 months.  I’m on a constant mission to grow my spice collection anyway, but I especially want to expand my Indian/Asian spices.  I troll the spice sales at Whole Foods like nobody’s business– it’s a serious art.  Recently, Garam Masala was FINALLY on sale, and it was pretty much the highlight of my life.  That probably says more about what life is like as a law student than it does about how exciting Garam Masala is, but whatever, I’m cool with being lame.  ANYway, now that I actually have a few of those spices, I was itching to put them to good use.  And then (drumroll please)…..I did!  Betcha didn’t see that coming.

A bowl of this stuff, a pair of cozy slippers, and the State of the Union was a pretty good way to spend a darned cold night.  When is spring again?

A bowl of this stuff, a pair of cozy slippers, and the State of the Union was a pretty good way to spend a darned cold night. When is spring coming again?

Potato and Chickpea Masala (makes around 4 servings)

  • 2 White Potatoes, cut into 1-inch chunks
  • 1 Onion, diced
  • 1 Bell Pepper, diced
  • 2 cloves Garlic, minced
  • 2 T. Olive Oil
  • 2 c. (ish) Cherry Tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 can Chickpeas, liquid reserved
  • 1 t. each: Chili Powder, Garam Masala, Curry (I used Muchi Curry), Ground Ginger, Cumin, Paprika, and Salt
  • 1/2 Lemon, juiced
  • Greek Yogurt, to garnish (optional) (do it) (seriously, do it)

Boil a pot of water and cook potatoes for 5-6 minutes until tender; drain and set aside.  Heat olive oil in large pot over med-low heat.  Cook onion and pepper til soft. Add garlic and spices, cooking for a few minutes.  Add tomatoes and increase heat to medium.  Cook for a few minutes to reduce, then add potato, chickpeas and lemon juice.  Add liquid to your preference; I used about half a can.  Cook 5-10 more minutes til chickpeas are heated through and liquid is reduced to satisfaction.  Serve with a dollop of greek yogurt.

I’m so in love with this recipe it isn’t even funny.  It’s wonderfully flavorful and super filling, and it’s a cozy recipe that provides a break from chili, casseroles, and more traditional “winter” dishes (not that I don’t love those, but still– too much of a good thing, you know).  Given that it seems like winter is never going to end, you can never have too many delicious cold-weather recipes in your back pocket!

But don’t really keep this in your pocket because it’ll be messy. Also you should be concentrating on eating it….

