Thai Sweet Potato Nachos

I know, I know– I said MORE than once that I was going to do this post about a salad.  And I was prepared to do so!  But when I asked BF what to post next, he unequivocally voted for Thai Sweet Potato Nachos instead.  So blame him. 😉

This week has consisted mostly of studying, studying, studying for me, but I did manage to sneak in  a little bit of Christmas-ing.

Christmas Tree

Studying by treelight has made studying a LOT easier…

Christmas is my FAVORITE time of year, and I can’t believe it’s only a week away!  Finals make Christmas sneak up so quickly– I feel like I have to get as much Christmas joy out of the next several days as I can, just to make up for lost time.  BF and I are having a Christmas party this weekend to squeeze in one last chance to see our friends before everyone goes home for the holiday, so I’ll be sharing a recipe or two from that later in the week.  Right now, though, we need to talk about these nachos.

Thai Sweet Potato Nachos

I was originally inspired by this recipe from Minimalist Baker, but I only had mayyyybe half the ingredients the recipe called for when I came across it.  It sounded so yummy that I couldn’t wait, so I got more than a little creative– you should feel free to do the same and use whatever veggies you have around that suit your fancy.  Isn’t that what’s fun about cooking in the first place?

Thai Sweet Potato Nachos

These guys are a) addictive, b) a gazillion times healthier than “real” nachos, and c) pretty easy to put together.  We had them for dinner and had the perfect amount leftover to make a lunch the next day.  I know these might sound a little weird, but give ’em the benefit of the doubt– they are seriously yummy.

Thai Sweet Potato Nachos

  • 2 Sweet Potatoes, sliced 1/4″ thick or slightly thinner
  • 2 T. Sesame Oil
  • 1/2 Onion, chopped
  • 10 oz. Spinach (no need to be specific about these veggie measurements)
  • 1 clove Garlic, chopped
  • 1 T. Soy Sauce (low sodium if you’ve got it)
  • Peanut Sauce (recipe below)
  • Shredded Carrots to top
  • Sriracha to top

Preheat oven to 350.  Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper and brush a smidge of olive oil on it.  Toss sweet potatoes with 1 T. sesame oil and spread in a single layer on baking sheet.  Bake 30-ish min, until potatoes are beginning to brown/crisp on the outside.

In the meantime, sauté veggies (in my case, onion, spinach, and garlic) in 1 T. sesame oil and 1 T. soy sauce until soft.  Set aside.  Use this time to shred your carrots too– the more the better!

To make the peanut sauce, you’ll need 1/2 c. Peanut Butter (crunchy if you have any kind of sense, I mean REALLY), 2 T. Soy Sauce, 2-3 T. Brown Sugar, the juice of 1 Lime, and 1/3-2/3 c. Hot Water.  Whisk together the first four ingredients and then slowly add hot water until you have a consistency that leaves the sauce pourable but still semi-thick.

To assemble, lay sweet potato slices on a platter and top with sautéed veggies.  Drizzle with peanut sauce, top with shredded carrots and if you’re anything like me, a HEFTY dose of Sriracha.

Thai Sweet Potato Nachos

I would be lying if I said BF was excited about these on sight.  “Intrigued but semi-skeptical” might be closer to the truth.  But after he tried one, I’m pretty sure he didn’t come up for air again til he couldn’t fit any more food in his stomach.

I, on the other hand, was a picture of self-restraint.  Obviously.

I, on the other hand, was a picture of self-restraint. Obviously.

Warning: there aren’t the neatest of nachos (neat nachos shouldn’t even count as real nachos, if you ask me), so you may want to keep a fork nearby.  These were a great weekday, finals-time dinner.  They don’t require much effort and they’re something fun and different.  Plus, if you are craving nachos, these are a great way to get a junk food fix without all the not-so-good-for-you aspects of classic nachos.  I am feeling inspired to make ALL of the sweet potato recipes lately, but I will definitely be returning to this one soon.

Now that I am officially half a lawyer, I should advise you that these nachos are so delicious that they may cause you to do illegal things to get some in your belly.  I waive all responsibility for your behavior related to this meal.

Thanks, but I already know I’m hilarious. 😉

