Roasted Tomato Camembert Dip

Do you need a minute to wipe the drool off your chin after reading the title of this post? Go ahead, I won’t look. In the meantime, I’ll tell you about the most exciting food-y thing in my life lately of which I also happen have a photo.   BF and I don’t go out a ton since only one of us isn’t currently hemorrhaging money in grad school (womp).  But last week was my birthday, so we got snazzy and went out to a new (to us) French place nearby.

I guess it still counts as a selfied if you use a tripod….

I guess it still counts as a selfie if you use a tripod…That kid is so darn cute.

The food was delicious and we even got dessert, which is unusual for us.  We figured we’d go whole hog, it being my birthday and all, so we got the optional Grand Marnier flambé on the lemon pie we split.  And you know what? I don’t think flaming desserts will ever not be exciting.

Definitely a step up from the usual birthday candle.

Definitely a step up from the usual birthday candle!

Though this dip doesn’t arrive at your table on fire, it’s still pretty exciting in my humble opinion. Tomatoes Oven-roasted tomatoes (yeah, again– sorry I’m not sorry) mix with camembert for a warm, savory dip that is guaranteed to go over well.  Between the holidays and football season, I KNOW you have a niche this dip can fill.  So get crackin!  I’m using this for my Christmas party this year.  And also may or may not have just eaten it for dinner.  But that will go unconfirmed til the day I die!

The perfect companion for a fresh-from-the-oven dip?  Toasted French bread, duh!

The perfect companion for a fresh-from-the-oven dip? Toasted French bread, duh!

This dip can be eaten with crackers, pita chips, sliced veggies– whatever floats your boat.  Tonight, toasted French bread did the trick.  Just slice it and pop it in the oven for a few minutes on each side and you’ve got a less embarrassing vehicle for getting this dip into your mouth than your hands.  Which is a good thing, because it’s tempting to bypass manners entirely when this stuff is in front of you.

I think I can hear this little toasty guy crying out-- "top me!"  Your wish is my command, sad dip-less toasty!

I think I can hear this little toasty guy crying out– “top me!” Your wish is my command, sad dip-less toasty!

So now that we’ve got that out of the way, let’s get to the good stuff.  To make the Roasted Tomato Camembert Dip, first preheat your oven to 400.  Halve and deseed a few handfuls of Cherry Tomatoes (or quarter 5 regular ones).  Toss with Olive Oil, Balsamic Vinegar, 1 T. Rosemary, 1 T. Basil, Salt, Pepper, and 3 cloves minced Garlic.  Roast around 30 minutes and roughly chop (don’t do that last bit til they’re cool enough to touch.  I won’t be the cause of any injuries!). Reduce oven to 350.  In a medium bowl, blend 8 oz. softened Cream Cheese and 8 oz. softened Camembert or Brie, rind removed.  Stir in tomatoes and transfer to an oven-safe dish.  Bake for 25 minutes, til bubbly and you can’t stand to wait any more.  Let cool for a few minutes so you don’t burn your mouth in overeagerness, and serve with toasted baguette/veggies/etc.

Am I the only person who wants to dive into this?  It sounds so gross and yet so appealing at the same time.  Sorry if that got weird.

Am I the only person who wants to dive into this? It sounds so gross and yet so appealing at the same time. Sorry if that got too weird.

I made this for our housewarming party last year and am bringing it back for Christmas this year, because it’s just so yummy!  I like that it has tomato in it– tomatoes don’t appear all that often in traditional dip recipes.  AND they’re balsamic-roasted tomatoes, so they’re a gazillion times better and add so much flavor to the dip!

Roasted Tomato Camembert Dip

You are my everything.

Football/holiday season is a great time to experiment with new appetizers.  Everybody loves the classics, but there are SO many exciting appetizer recipes out there, and there’s no other time when you’ll have such a captive and willing audience!  I especially enjoy this season because it lets me inch a little closer to my appetizer-as-normal-feature- of-weekday-dinner goal.  I WILL make it happen! P.S. I got a blender/food processor from my parents (are they the best or WHAT?!) for my birthday, and I cannot wait to start experimenting and sharing recipes with you guys!  No more reading amazing recipes and getting sad because I don’t have the tools to make them– woooo hoooo!  I think 23 is gonna be a darn good year.  Not only because of the blender/food processor.  But that definitely doesn’t hurt. 😉

