Lemon Poppyseed Pancakes and Flying By the Seat of Your Pants

Oh hey there, long time no see!  Now that it’s a month into the semester, life is getting a littttttle crazy (I shudder to think what that means the next few months hold…) so my blogging is dropping off a bit. I knew this was going to happen, but it still makes me sad!  Hopefully I’ll be able to get my act together here and not leave 2 weeks between posts anymore (whoops)!  Luckily I have awesome friends like Billiam to remind me to post (and to give him a shoutout.  So, guess I can check that off my list.  Woo!).

I’m having a GREAT weekend, because my momma and aunt are in town visiting!  It’s always great to see them both, and we’re doing lots of fun things.  Plus, they bring me tons of goodies and I likely will never need to grocery shop ever again.  AND they create a convenient excuse to go out and try new restaurants– win, win win 🙂

Today we went to Hillwood Estate and checked out the GORGEOUS mansion and gardens--a new favorite DC discovery!

Today we went to Hillwood Estate and checked out the GORGEOUS mansion and gardens–a new favorite DC discovery!

Since we’ve got visitors in town BF and I aren’t doing our usual Sunday Brunch, so I’m not going to lie– I’ve been keeping this recipe from you for a few weeks.  Don’t be mad!  It’s here now!

lemons

I LOVE lemon poppyseed anything, so when I was trying to come up with a way to spice up pancakes (not that there’s anything wrong with classic pancakes, let’s be real here), lemon poppyseed pancakes seemed like a pretty darned inspired idea.  Turns out I’m not the first to think of it– who saw THAT coming?!

And here I thought I was a carb-y breakfast genius.

And here I thought I was a carb-y breakfast genius.

Once I latched onto this idea I was NOT letting go, even if I didn’t exactly have every ingredient called for…

This batter is lacking TWO kind of clutch ingredients...

This batter is lacking TWO kind of clutch ingredients…

First, I didn’t have any eggs.  BUT the recipe I eventually dug up said they were optional, so I figured it was alright if I went without.  Also there was the small, teeny, infinitesimal detail of not having the 1 1/2 c. whole milk called for.  But I had about 1/2 c. of skim milk and some plain nonfat greek yogurt, so I figured that would be an alright substitute.

Oh hey there, crazy-thick batter.  You look pretty darn good, improvised ingredients or not....

Oh hey there, crazy-thick batter. You look pretty darn good, improvised ingredients or not….

Turns out a lack of eggs makes pancakes a lot less fluffy and a lot more dense, especially when you couple it with greek yogurt substituted for milk.  The batter was SUPA thick. Which is ok.  But then when the pancakes were done and it came time to eat them (yay!), they were sort of…chewy?  Didn’t really have that whole light-fluffy thing that pancakes usually have going on.  Don’t get me wrong, they were good and we ate them all (I mean, we’re not crazy).  They were just more filling than pancakes usually are, and a little weird texture-wise.  Not bad.  Just…different.

Alright pancake, you still look delicious.  I will eat you.  You won me over.  Happy?  Geez.

Alright pancake, you still look delicious. I will eat you. You won me over. Happy? Geez.

So moral of the story: Don’t cut eggs out from your pancakes (unless you have to due to an allergy, in which case, you know, don’t die for some fluffy pancakes), and maybe take heed before subbing greek yogurt for milk in a pancake recipe.  I have no idea which variable made these cross over to the dense side.  You are welcome to experiment yourself if you just can’t live til you know the answer.  And if you come up with something let me know!

Lemon Poppyseed Pancakes (original recipe here)

Ingredients:

2 c. Flour

4 t. Baking Powder

1/2 t. Kosher Salt (if you don’t have kosher salt, guess what?  Your pancake world will keep on turning, I promise)

2 T. Sugar

2 t. Lemon Zest

2 Whole Eggs {optional} (NOT REALLY OPTIONAL DON’T DO IT)

1 1/2 c. Whole Milk (see above, in case you had any ideas about getting “creative” here)

3 t.  Lemon Juice

1 t. Vanilla

2 T. melted Butter

2 T. Poppy Seeds

Coconut Oil, for the griddle (or just normal oil or butter because we aren’t all this schmancy)

TOP WITH:

Butter

Fresh Blueberries

REAL Maple Syrup (don’t let me catch you with that fake stuff!)

Directions:

Combine the flour, baking powder and salt in a mixing bowl.

Combine the lemon zest with the sugar and rub together with your finger until the sugar is wet. Add the sugar to the dry ingredients, stir and set aside.

Combine the lemon juice with the whole milk to make a “faux buttermilk” {don’t be alarmed… it will curdle. That’s the idea!}. Add the vanilla, stir and add to the dry ingredients.

*If making this recipe with eggs, add them to the “faux” buttermilk and beat them until combined.  If not and you’re not allergic, go back and read the ingredients list again.  Go ahead, I’ll wait.*

Add the melted butter and the poppy seeds and stir just until combined before pouring a quarter cup of batter onto a hot, well greased griddle or frying pan.  Once the bubbles pop and no longer fill back in it’s time to flip. Repeat with the remaining batter until gone.

Keep pancakes warm in a casserole dish in the oven on the lowest temperature (I can’t even tell you how genius I felt the first time I did this.  It’s probably embarrassing, but when has that stopped me before?).

Serve with butter, fresh blueberries and maple syrup. YUM!

Lemon Poppyseed Pancakes

Seriously though.  Sorta weirdly chewy or not, these still tasted delicious.  And were an awesome vehicle for syrup, which I wasn’t sure about.  But the lemon and maple flavors played really nicely together.  I will add that to one of the MANY lessons I learned from this recipe.  Another lesson I’m learning? Blogging near dinnertime is a very good way to make oneself hungry.  So, you know…I’m outty.  Be back SOON!

