Lazy Weekends and Tomato-Goat Cheese Crostini

Around here, weekends are for lazingggg around.  There are tons of awesome things to do in DC, and we do like to use our weekends to explore the city a bit, but after a busy week of school and work it’s also nice just to relax.  Every Saturday I spend the morning looking through recipes and making the grocery list, and then we walk over to the library (turns out the DC library system has a decent DVD selection, so we get our movie and Mad Men fix there for free, woo hoo!) and loop down to hit the grocery store and farmers market.  It’s a nice little routine that gets us out and about on the warm, sunny days that make up DC summers, and we both love looking at all the beautiful houses on the side streets of our area as we wind our way from neighborhood to neighborhood.

And sometimes on our walks we run into beloved Nats mascots just hanging out (and sometimes we -- meaning me-- freak out a little and get so excited that we can't hold our phone straight to take a picture.  Maybe)

And sometimes on our walks we run into beloved Nats mascots just hanging out (and sometimes we — meaning me– freak out a little and get so excited that we can’t hold our phone straight to take a picture. Maybe.)

One of my favorite things to do is putting away the groceries; I actively refuse to let BF help.  And I don’t mean “favorite chores” when I say “favorite things”.  I mean things, period.  Putting groceries away is SO rewarding!  It’s a job that only takes a few minutes but you can immediately see the results, and everything is suddenly so full and fresh and organized.  It’s kind of like starting over every week.  The fridge and cupboards are full of possibilities, and all the fruits and veggies look so beautiful.  I can’t tell if I’m aware lately of how beautiful fresh farmers market goodies are because summer is fading or because I started writing a cooking blog and now I pay slightly (slightly) more attention to the way my food looks as well as how it tastes.  But either way I’m ok with it, because man, are summer fruits/veggies pretty.

Of course, summer beauties like this gem from our walk this week aren't too shabby either!

Of course, summer beauties like this gem from our walk this week aren’t too shabby either!

“Lunch” isn’t really a thing that happens here on the weekends.  Sunday brunch is WAY too much food to warrant eating lunch, and Saturday breakfasts, though smaller, happen late enough in the day that lunch isn’t really necessary.  So we usually just kind of graze, which is what I would rather do 99% of the time anyway (but I swear, I  really do like cooking!).  Since we had just returned from the farmers market with fresh cherry tomatoes and French bread, I decided to make a one-serving crostini for lunch.  I spread goat cheese on a thick piece of toasted French bread, then topped it with some sliced cherry tomatoes, a drizzle of honey, and black pepper.

Tomato Goat Cheese Crostini

I wasn’t going to blog about this.  I don’t usually blog about simple things (this doesn’t even require any cooking…), so I decided it wasn’t worth it.  But then when I was done it looked pretty, so I took a photo or two on the off chance I decided to write about it.

Tomato Goat Cheese Crostini

And then I tasted it.

And THEN I decided I needed to share this with everyone.  Immediately.  And probably also make it for dinner?  Ok, definitely make it for dinner.  And shout it from the rooftops.  And only eat this for the rest of my life.  Because YUM.  This is probably the best thing I have ever done with my life in so little time.  I know it isn’t lunchtime anymore, but who cares?  Make this now.  Because it’s just plain cruel to deprive your tastebuds of this any longer than you have to.  What are you waiting for?  Get thee to the kitchen!

