Farmers Market Pasta

Tis the season of the Farmers Market, and I am VERY excited!  I grew up with a biiiig, beautiful garden (albeit one plagued by freakishly talented woodchucks who could climb a ten-foot fence), and I miss having fresh veggies whenever I want them.  Lucky for me, there’s no shortage of farmers markets here in DC, including one right at our own metro stop!  And since BF and I were actually around for once this Saturday, we finally got a chance to stop by our local market.  It’s a pretty teeny one but they’ve got some good stuff, and we can always count on the local karaoke star to make an entertaining, if tone deaf, appearance.  We stopped by on Saturday and picked up peaches, blueberries, eggplant, zucchini, and tomatoes.  If I actually knew how to take a decent picture this bounty would make a pretty good subject, because the colors are gorgeous!  However you may feel about the texture/taste/etc of eggplants, you can’t deny that they’re a beautiful color.  And the tomatoes too!  They look so promising, not to mention healthy!

SO pretty!

SO pretty!

I’m the kind of girl who has to wear a new dress the day I buy it, or has to use all my willpower not to spread good news as soon as I get it.  So naturally I was chomping at the bit to put all these fresh veggies to use!  But date night and a weirdly-scheduled Sunday kept me from doing so for TWO WHOLE DAYS.  Waiting so long meant that I obviously needed to use ALL of the veggies in one meal to make up for lost time.  And I’m glad I did!  The eggplant, zucchini, and tomatoes play very well together, and made for an easy, healthy weekday dinner.

Looks like summer, doesn't it?

Looks like summer, doesn’t it?

To make this Farmers Market Pasta, you’ll need:

  • 1 Eggplant, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1 Zucchini, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1 pint Cherry Tomatoes
  • 3 or 4 whole garlic cloves
  • 3 T. Olive Oil
  • 1/2 T. Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1/2 T. Salt
  • 1/2 T. Pepper
  • Pasta (I always just eyeball it, but it’s probably a couple of cups)
  • Parmesan

Mix eggplant, zucchini, tomatoes, garlic, olive oil, red pepper, salt, and pepper.  Place in a single layer on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and roast at 400 for around 30 min, or until it goes from looking like this:

image_4

to this:

Yummm

Yummm!

Meanwhile, cook pasta til al dente and drain, reserving 1/2 c. pasta water.  Return pasta to pot and stir in veggies, adding a few splashes of pasta water.  Add parmesan to your liking, and stir.  You’ll wind up with a semi-saucy (thanks to the water, parmesan, and tomato juices) pasta that you can season with salt and pepper to taste.  Serves two for BF and I, but without his eating habits probably actually serves three.

And then you'll end up with a plate that looks like this.  Probably very quickly, if your house is like mine.

And then you’ll end up with a plate that looks like this. Probably very quickly, if your house is like mine.

We paired our pasta with a pinot noir, but if you’re in the mood for a little vino with your pasta any red would work well.  And let’s be honest, any white would probably be good too.  Because it’s still wine!

Eating food from the farmers market makes you feel so good.  You’re supporting local farmers, you’re eating (hopefully) pesticide-free and GMO-free food, and you’re basically giving your body a direct dose of nutrients.  Win, win, win!  I won’t be able to get to the market this weekend, so I guess I’ll just have to savor the memories of this yummy dish til next time.  OR you can make it and I’ll live vicariously through you!

