The Yummiest Lentil/Risotto Recipe on Earth

This weekend BF and I went out to Annapolis to visit family.  It was a gorgeous, relaxing weekend!  We always look forward to heading out there– it’s so nice to get away from the city and just do nothing for a few days.  And Annapolis is one of my favorite places in the whole world!  I have been determined to live there since I was 8.  I’m a lot closer to that goal in DC– only 42 miles to go!

Beautiful weekend to hang out by the harbor!

Beautiful weekend to hang out by the harbor!

While in Annapolis, we had a lentil dish at an Indian restaurant (which is usually great!) and it was like somebody had forgotten to add any seasoning–womp womp.  It inspired me to come home and make this lentil/risotto dish.   Lentils are great; they’re so versatile and so cheap!  And so cute, like teeny lil buttons.  But it’s really easy for lentils to be bland and kind of meh.  So finding a good recipe is SUPER exciting, and I definitely have one here!  The cute little lentils only look cuter when paired with adorable little arborio rice bits!  But don’t worry, it won’t be so cute that you can’t eat it, I promise.   This recipe calls for stuff you’re likely to have around without a special (or expensive) trip to the grocery store, and is just as flavorful as it is simple.  Plus, it’s so colorful, which is not only fun but a good sign of the veggies you’re getting!  And it lends itself really well to improvising– whatever veggies you’ve got lying around the kitchen will definitely play nicely in there!

Ain't no party like a veggie party!

Ain’t no party like a veggie party!

You can find the original recipe here, but I translated it into American measurements and made a few teeny adjustments here.  I didn’t use celery because I don’t have it around (ick ick ick– I just can’t get behind celery), so I threw in some more cherry tomatoes to compensate.  And I used chicken stock instead of veggie stock and green lentils instead of red (again because that’s what I had this time), but it tastes great with the original veggie stock too!  I also skipped the olive oil drizzle at the end– didn’t need it!

Risotto with Red Lentils & Green Peas
Serves 4

  • 2 stalks celery, minced
  • 2 carrots, minced
  • 4 c. hot vegetable stock
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 1 c. red lentils, rinsed
  • 1 c. rice
  • 1 c. green peas
  • 1/2 c. cherry tomatoes, halved
  • salt & pepper
  • ground parmigiano reggiano
  • parsley, chopped finely
The kitchen will smell delicious, and is guaranteed to make you infinitely hungrier.

The kitchen will smell delicious, and is guaranteed to make you infinitely hungrier.

  1. Boil the veggie stock.
  2. In another saucepan with extra virgin olive oil, saute onion, carrots, celery & tomatoes.  After tossing for 10 minutes, add the lentils and rice.  Toast for 3 minutes.
  3. Pour half the hot stock in the saucepan and simmer on low flame.
  4. Add green peas in the middle of cooking.
  5. Keep on ladling small amounts of hot stock while cooking.  Stir frequently to avoid sticking.  Season with salt & pepper.
  6. Turn off fire when you see that the rice is cooked through.
  7. Sprinkle with parmigiano reggiano & parsley.
  8. Drizzle with extra virgin olive oil.
Yum!

Yum!

BF eats approximately 3 times as much as I do– I swear I don’t know where he puts it!– but even with his garbage disposal-esque eating habits we had leftovers.  And thanks to today’s lunch I can attest that this recipe tastes just as good reheated the next day!

I loved how delicious and easy this healthy recipe was.  Next up is a churn-free ice cream recipe that’s sure to cancel out all the veggies you get with this recipe– good thing they invented that thing called exercise, huh?

